Bobby C Smith Jr Energy Facility
Natural gas power plant in Effingham County, Georgia. 596.6 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Oglethorpe Power Corporation.
Also known as Bobby C. Smith Jr. Energy Facility · Effingham County Power Project · EIA plant 55406
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 596.6 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- August 2003First generator online
- Operator
- Oglethorpe Power CorporationEIA operator ID 13994
- Grid
- SOCOBalancing authority SOCO
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Effingham County, GA32.2773, −81.2844
- EIA plant ID
- 55406EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Bobby C Smith Jr Energy Facility produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
3.19 TWh
3,193,378 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
61.1%
2024: 31.5%
January to July 2026
1.98 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2016 to 2025
1.7–3.2
TWh a year. Low 2024, high 2025
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | 0 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 49,168 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 630,283 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 875,540 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 851,966 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 1,160,068 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 975,805 | Not reported | 11 of 12 |
| 2009 | 2,431,414 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 2,120,194 | 40.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 2,097,936 | 40.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 2,399,280 | 45.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 1,216,239 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 1,448,272 | 27.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 2,614,116 | 54.2% | 11 of 12 |
| 2016 | 1,820,107 | 34.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 2,448,066 | 46.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 1,808,046 | 34.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 2,135,027 | 40.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 2,863,225 | 54.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 2,694,606 | 51.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 2,544,639 | 48.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 2,439,623 | 46.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 1,650,261 | 31.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 3,193,378 | 61.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 1,976,091 | 65.1% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
1.36M
US short tons. 2024: 719,154
SO₂, 2025
7
US short tons
NOx, 2025
81
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.43 t
About 854 lb per MWh
2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, 2), matched to EIA plant 55406 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
401
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
382
million gallons
Source
Municipal
Surface, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Very low/none · 0.152
USGS SUI, HUC12 Dasher Creek-Savannah River
12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the HUC12 containing the plant. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| STG | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 197.8 | August 2003 |
| UNT1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 199.4 | August 2003 |
| UNT2 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 199.4 | August 2003 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Oglethorpe Power Corporation as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Bobby C Smith Jr Energy Facility and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Bobby C Smith Jr Energy Facility
More plants operated by Oglethorpe Power Corporation
Questions about Bobby C Smith Jr Energy Facility
How much power does Bobby C Smith Jr Energy Facility produce?
Bobby C Smith Jr Energy Facility reported 3,193,378 MWh (3.19 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 61.1% capacity factor on 596.6 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 1.98 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Bobby C Smith Jr Energy Facility?
Bobby C Smith Jr Energy Facility is in Effingham County, Georgia, at 32.2773, −81.2844. It is in the Southern Company Services, Inc. - Trans balancing area (SOCO).
Who operates Bobby C Smith Jr Energy Facility?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Oglethorpe Power Corporation as the operator (EIA operator ID 13994). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Bobby C Smith Jr Energy Facility start operating?
Its first generator began operating in August 2003, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page