Brule County Wind
Wind power plant in Brule County, South Dakota. 20 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by RWE Clean Energy.
Also known as EIA plant 61746
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 20 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- October 2018First generator online
- Operator
- RWE Clean EnergyEIA operator ID 67192
- Grid
- SPPBalancing authority SWPP
- Price nodes
- 1 SPP nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Brule County, SD43.7170, −98.9220
- EIA plant ID
- 61746EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Brule County Wind produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
79.5 GWh
79,525 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
45.4%
2024: 41.3%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2019 to 2025
64.6–86.5
GWh a year. Low 2023, high 2022
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2013 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2016 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2017 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2018 | 20,616 | Not reported | 3 of 12 |
| 2019 | 77,395 | 44.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 77,512 | 44.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 81,680 | 46.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 86,474 | 49.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 64,637 | 36.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 72,478 | 41.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 79,525 | 45.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · SPPEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| BCSD | Onshore Wind Turbine | 20.0 | October 2018 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists RWE Clean Energy as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Modeled curtailment
A range, not one number. The lower bound counts hours inside the production tax credit window; the upper bound is the no-credit case.
Expected vs reported generation
Monthly modeled expected output and physical potential next to EIA-923 reported output.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Brule County Wind and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Brule County Wind
More plants operated by RWE Clean Energy
Questions about Brule County Wind
How much power does Brule County Wind produce?
Brule County Wind reported 79,525 MWh (79.5 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 45.4% capacity factor on 20 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Brule County Wind?
Brule County Wind is in Brule County, South Dakota, at 43.7170, −98.9220. It is in the Southwest Power Pool balancing area (SWPP).
Who operates Brule County Wind?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists RWE Clean Energy as the operator (EIA operator ID 67192). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Brule County Wind start operating?
Its first generator began operating in October 2018, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Brule County Wind?
Yes. InfraMap has SPP day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Brule County Wind, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- SPP day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page