Emery Station
Natural gas power plant in Cerro Gordo County, Iowa. 602.8 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Interstate Power and Light Co.
Also known as Emery Generating Station · EIA plant 8031
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 602.8 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- May 2004First generator online
- Operator
- Interstate Power and Light CoEIA operator ID 9417
- Grid
- MISOBalancing authority MISO
- Price nodes
- 4 MISO nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Cerro Gordo County, IA43.0940, −93.2922
- EIA plant ID
- 8031EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Emery Station produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
2.45 TWh
2,454,760 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
46.5%
2024: 44.5%
January to July 2026
1.37 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
1.7–2.9
TWh a year. Low 2015, high 2023
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | 471,071 | Not reported | 7 of 12 |
| 2005 | 1,564,713 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 1,334,181 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 1,646,320 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 927,789 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 584,934 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 530,143 | 10.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 464,430 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 868,238 | 16.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 774,218 | 14.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 1,013,806 | 19.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 1,747,510 | 33.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 1,791,017 | 33.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 1,980,141 | 37.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 149,287 | 33.3% | 1 of 12 |
| 2019 | 2,561,894 | 48.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 2,568,745 | 48.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 1,944,548 | 36.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 1,787,050 | 33.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 2,898,339 | 54.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 2,357,353 | 44.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 2,454,760 | 46.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 1,373,948 | 44.8% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · MISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
1.12M
US short tons. 2024: 1.08M
SO₂, 2025
6
US short tons
NOx, 2025
77
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.45 t
About 910 lb per MWh
2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (11, 12), matched to EIA plant 8031 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
875
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
533
million gallons
Source
wells
Discharge, Reclaimed. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Low · 0.226
USGS SUI, HUC12 Crane Creek
11 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. Reclaimed water or plant effluent; not tested. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 11 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 173.4 | May 2004 |
| 12 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 173.4 | May 2004 |
| ST1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 256.0 | May 2004 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Interstate Power and Light Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Emery Station and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Emery Station
More plants operated by Interstate Power and Light Co
Questions about Emery Station
How much power does Emery Station produce?
Emery Station reported 2,454,760 MWh (2.45 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 46.5% capacity factor on 602.8 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 1.37 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Emery Station?
Emery Station is in Cerro Gordo County, Iowa, at 43.0940, −93.2922. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).
Who operates Emery Station?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Interstate Power and Light Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 9417). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Emery Station start operating?
Its first generator began operating in May 2004, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Emery Station?
Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 4 price nodes linked to Emery Station, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page