Natural gasOperatingMISO

Marshalltown

Natural gas power plant in Marshall County, Iowa. 189 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Interstate Power and Light Co.

Also known as Marshalltown Power Station · EIA plant 1068

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Marshalltown Generati…Vienna Wind FarmLaurel Wind FarmState CenterSalt Creek WindIvester Wind FarmMarshalltown20 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 33 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
189 MWNameplate
Generators
3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
June 1978First generator online
Operator
Interstate Power and Light CoEIA operator ID 9417
Grid
MISOBalancing authority MISO
Price nodes
3 MISO nodesResource nodes with prices
Location
Marshall County, IA42.0474, −92.8594
EIA plant ID
1068EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Marshalltown produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

20.3 GWh

20,255 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

1.2%

2024: 4.8%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

2.2–122.1

GWh a year. Low 2015, high 2023

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
200025,965Not reported12 of 12
200121,017Not reported12 of 12
200211,850Not reported12 of 12
200320,180Not reported12 of 12
200418,472Not reported12 of 12
200546,947Not reported12 of 12
200628,647Not reported12 of 12
200754,620Not reported12 of 12
20089,730Not reported12 of 12
200913,269Not reported12 of 12
201017,8031.0%12 of 12
201114,096Not reported12 of 12
201230,0691.8%12 of 12
201318,2771.1%12 of 12
20149,7290.6%12 of 12
20152,1570.1%12 of 12
20163,0950.2%12 of 12
201717,911Not reported12 of 12
201830,8091.9%12 of 12
201929,9341.8%12 of 12
202048,7352.9%12 of 12
202188,1395.3%12 of 12
202271,8504.3%12 of 12
2023122,1117.4%12 of 12
202479,0314.8%12 of 12
202520,2551.2%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · MISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

CO₂, 2025

Not reported

US short tons. 2024: Not reported

SO₂, 2025

0

US short tons

NOx, 2025

36

US short tons

0 of 6 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1A, 1B, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B), matched to EIA plant 1068 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine63.0June 1978
2Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine63.0June 1978
3Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine63.0July 1978

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Interstate Power and Light Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Marshalltown and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Marshalltown

More plants operated by Interstate Power and Light Co

Questions about Marshalltown

How much power does Marshalltown produce?

Marshalltown reported 20,255 MWh (20.3 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 1.2% capacity factor on 189 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Marshalltown?

Marshalltown is in Marshall County, Iowa, at 42.0474, −92.8594. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).

Who operates Marshalltown?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Interstate Power and Light Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 9417). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Marshalltown start operating?

Its first generator began operating in June 1978, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Marshalltown?

Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 3 price nodes linked to Marshalltown, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
  • MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page