HydroOperatingCAISO

Cove Hydroelectric

Hydro power plant in Shasta County, California. 5 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Snow Mountain Hydro LLC.

Also known as EIA plant 10707

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Roaring Creek Water PowerHatchet Creek ProjectMontgomery Creek HydroPit 7Pit 6Cove Hydroelectric2 km
Open in the map
5 plants within 6.8 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
5 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
February 1990First generator online
Operator
Snow Mountain Hydro LLCEIA operator ID 17725
Grid
CAISOBalancing authority CISO
Price nodes
1 CAISO nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Shasta County, CA40.8713, −121.9487
EIA plant ID
10707EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Cove Hydroelectric produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

17.4 GWh

17,413 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

39.8%

2024: 42.0%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

2.6–18.4

GWh a year. Low 2021, high 2024

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
20019,919Not reported12 of 12
200217,051Not reported12 of 12
200320,448Not reported12 of 12
200414,689Not reported12 of 12
200518,583Not reported12 of 12
200621,998Not reported12 of 12
200710,012Not reported12 of 12
200810,966Not reported12 of 12
20099,759Not reported12 of 12
201019,44044.4%12 of 12
201120,02245.7%12 of 12
201210,39423.7%12 of 12
20139,48921.7%12 of 12
20147,04716.1%12 of 12
20153,1177.1%12 of 12
201616,56837.7%12 of 12
201718,24141.6%12 of 12
20189,95722.7%12 of 12
201918,02241.1%12 of 12
20207,07616.1%12 of 12
20212,5655.9%12 of 12
20227,35316.8%12 of 12
202314,36532.8%12 of 12
202418,43842.0%12 of 12
202517,41339.8%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · CAISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
GEN1Conventional Hydroelectric5.0February 1990

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Snow Mountain Hydro LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Cove Hydroelectric and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Cove Hydroelectric

More plants operated by Snow Mountain Hydro LLC

Questions about Cove Hydroelectric

How much power does Cove Hydroelectric produce?

Cove Hydroelectric reported 17,413 MWh (17.4 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 39.8% capacity factor on 5 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Cove Hydroelectric?

Cove Hydroelectric is in Shasta County, California, at 40.8713, −121.9487. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).

Who operates Cove Hydroelectric?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Snow Mountain Hydro LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 17725). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Cove Hydroelectric start operating?

Its first generator began operating in February 1990, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Cove Hydroelectric?

Yes. InfraMap has CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Cove Hydroelectric, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page