Montgomery Creek Hydro
Hydro power plant in Shasta County, California. 2.6 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Central Rivers Power US, LLC.
Also known as EIA plant 55009
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 2.6 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- January 1987First generator online
- Operator
- Central Rivers Power US, LLCEIA operator ID 64078
- Grid
- CAISOBalancing authority CISO
- Price nodes
- 1 CAISO nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Shasta County, CA40.8468, −121.9564
- EIA plant ID
- 55009EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Montgomery Creek Hydro produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
9.24 GWh
9,238 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
40.6%
2024: 44.4%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
1.8–11.1
GWh a year. Low 2015, high 2016
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | 8,528 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 9,434 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 12,094 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 498 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 10,538 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 11,634 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 5,854 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 6,302 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 6,363 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 12,380 | 54.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 11,425 | 50.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 6,540 | 28.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 4,945 | 21.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 4,312 | 18.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 1,804 | 7.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 11,134 | 48.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 10,406 | 45.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 6,352 | 27.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 9,971 | 43.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 3,638 | 15.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 3,013 | 13.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 3,687 | 16.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 8,431 | 37.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 10,143 | 44.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 9,238 | 40.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · CAISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| GEN1 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 2.6 | January 1987 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Central Rivers Power US, LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Montgomery Creek Hydro and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Montgomery Creek Hydro
More plants operated by Central Rivers Power US, LLC
Questions about Montgomery Creek Hydro
How much power does Montgomery Creek Hydro produce?
Montgomery Creek Hydro reported 9,238 MWh (9.24 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 40.6% capacity factor on 2.6 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Montgomery Creek Hydro?
Montgomery Creek Hydro is in Shasta County, California, at 40.8468, −121.9564. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).
Who operates Montgomery Creek Hydro?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Central Rivers Power US, LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 64078). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Montgomery Creek Hydro start operating?
Its first generator began operating in January 1987, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Montgomery Creek Hydro?
Yes. InfraMap has CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Montgomery Creek Hydro, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page