HydroOperatingISO-NE

Hadley Falls

Hydro power plant in Hampden County, Massachusetts. 33.4 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by City of Holyoke Gas and Elec Dept - (MA).

Also known as Hadley Station Hydro Project · Hadley Falls Station · EIA plant 1605

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

BoatlockCabot HolyokeRiverside HolyokeChemicalChicopee SolarCED Chicopee SolarHadley Falls2 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 4.4 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
33.4 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
January 1952First generator online
Operator
City of Holyoke Gas and Elec Dept - (MA)EIA operator ID 8776
Grid
ISO-NEBalancing authority ISNE
Price nodes
1 ISONE nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Hampden County, MA42.2119, −72.6036
EIA plant ID
1605EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Hadley Falls produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

137 GWh

137,327 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

46.9%

2024: 51.5%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

75.7–218.2

GWh a year. Low 2016, high 2023

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000156,495Not reported12 of 12
200186,876Not reported12 of 12
2002171,540Not reported12 of 12
2003197,814Not reported12 of 12
2004187,374Not reported12 of 12
2005192,195Not reported12 of 12
2006455,940Not reported12 of 12
2007142,101Not reported12 of 12
2008208,136Not reported12 of 12
2009216,351Not reported12 of 12
2010192,78965.9%12 of 12
2011212,56072.6%12 of 12
2012175,77159.9%12 of 12
2013185,12663.3%12 of 12
201498,74133.7%12 of 12
2015103,78735.5%12 of 12
201675,698Not reported12 of 12
2017182,033Not reported12 of 12
2018178,41361.0%12 of 12
2019105,50836.1%12 of 12
202094,31132.1%12 of 12
2021209,12171.5%12 of 12
2022164,02156.1%12 of 12
2023218,18674.6%12 of 12
2024151,14251.5%12 of 12
2025137,32746.9%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · ISONE

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric17.6January 1952
2Conventional Hydroelectric15.8November 1983

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists City of Holyoke Gas and Elec Dept - (MA) as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Hadley Falls and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Hadley Falls

More plants operated by City of Holyoke Gas and Elec Dept - (MA)

Questions about Hadley Falls

How much power does Hadley Falls produce?

Hadley Falls reported 137,327 MWh (137 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 46.9% capacity factor on 33.4 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Hadley Falls?

Hadley Falls is in Hampden County, Massachusetts, at 42.2119, −72.6036. It is in the ISO New England Inc. balancing area (ISNE).

Who operates Hadley Falls?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists City of Holyoke Gas and Elec Dept - (MA) as the operator (EIA operator ID 8776). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Hadley Falls start operating?

Its first generator began operating in January 1952, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Hadley Falls?

Yes. InfraMap has ISONE day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Hadley Falls, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • ISONE day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page