Hodenpyl
Hydro power plant in Wexford County, Michigan. 17 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Consumers Energy Co - (MI).
Also known as Hodenpyl Power Plant · EIA plant 1708
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 17 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- July 1925First generator online
- Operator
- Consumers Energy Co - (MI)EIA operator ID 4254
- Grid
- MISOBalancing authority MISO
- Price nodes
- 1 MISO nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Wexford County, MI44.3629, −85.8200
- EIA plant ID
- 1708EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Hodenpyl produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
21.7 GWh
21,685 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
14.6%
2024: 26.5%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
21.7–54.6
GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2020
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 29,201 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 36,259 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 34,918 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 30,123 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 34,208 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 30,741 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 40,735 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 40,380 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 48,475 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 50,306 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 39,738 | 23.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 43,236 | 26.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 44,641 | 26.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 50,256 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 55,117 | 37.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 47,846 | 32.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 50,017 | 33.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 53,376 | 35.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 45,966 | 30.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 52,862 | 35.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 54,587 | 36.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 44,816 | 30.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 28,545 | 19.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 44,993 | 30.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 39,609 | 26.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 21,685 | 14.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · MISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 8.5 | July 1925 |
| 2 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 8.5 | August 1925 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Consumers Energy Co - (MI) as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Hodenpyl and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Hodenpyl
More plants operated by Consumers Energy Co - (MI)
Questions about Hodenpyl
How much power does Hodenpyl produce?
Hodenpyl reported 21,685 MWh (21.7 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 14.6% capacity factor on 17 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Hodenpyl?
Hodenpyl is in Wexford County, Michigan, at 44.3629, −85.8200. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).
Who operates Hodenpyl?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Consumers Energy Co - (MI) as the operator (EIA operator ID 4254). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Hodenpyl start operating?
Its first generator began operating in July 1925, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Hodenpyl?
Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Hodenpyl, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page