Natural gasOperatingSPP

Carthage

Natural gas power plant in Jasper County, Missouri. 41.8 MW of nameplate capacity across 9 generators, operated by City of Carthage - (MO).

Also known as Carthage Power Plant · EIA plant 2121

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Prosperity Solar Farm…Empire Energy CenterKings Point Wind Energy CenterNorth Fork Ridge Wind Energy CenterState Line Combined CycleCarthage10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 37 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
41.8 MWNameplate
Generators
9 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
July 1946First generator online
Operator
City of Carthage - (MO)EIA operator ID 3113
Grid
SPPBalancing authority SWPP
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Jasper County, MO37.1766, −94.2994
EIA plant ID
2121EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Carthage produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

−258 MWh

−258 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

Not reported

2024: Not reported

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

−0.3–3.0

GWh a year. Low 2020, high 2021

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
20000Not reported12 of 12
20019,504Not reported12 of 12
20026,508Not reported12 of 12
20034,580Not reported12 of 12
20041,050Not reported12 of 12
20058,114Not reported12 of 12
20066,578Not reported12 of 12
20073,988Not reported12 of 12
20081,215Not reported12 of 12
2009569Not reported12 of 12
20103,4440.9%12 of 12
20113,2170.9%12 of 12
20123,4650.9%12 of 12
20131260.0%12 of 12
2014−624-0.2%12 of 12
20152370.1%12 of 12
2016−115-0.0%12 of 12
2017−41-0.0%12 of 12
2018−18-0.0%12 of 12
2019−188-0.1%12 of 12
2020−266-0.1%12 of 12
20213,016Not reported12 of 12
20221,663Not reported12 of 12
202300.0%12 of 12
20240Not reported12 of 12
2025−258Not reported12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
6Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine2.5July 1946
7Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine3.0July 1949
8Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine3.3July 1952
9Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine5.0August 1957
10Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine7.0July 1965
11Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine4.5July 1970
12Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine4.5July 1971
13Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine6.0February 1976
14Natural Gas Internal Combustion Engine6.0April 1976

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists City of Carthage - (MO) as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Carthage and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Carthage

Questions about Carthage

How much power does Carthage produce?

Carthage reported −258 MWh (−258 MWh) of net generation in 2025.

Where is Carthage?

Carthage is in Jasper County, Missouri, at 37.1766, −94.2994. It is in the Southwest Power Pool balancing area (SWPP).

Who operates Carthage?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists City of Carthage - (MO) as the operator (EIA operator ID 3113). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Carthage start operating?

Its first generator began operating in July 1946, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page