Natural gasOperatingSPP

Empire Energy Center

Natural gas power plant in Jasper County, Missouri. 379 MW of nameplate capacity across 4 generators, operated by Empire District Electric Co.

Also known as EIA plant 6223

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Kings Point Wind Energy CenterCarthageNorth Fork Ridge Wind Energy CenterState Line Combined CycleEmpire25 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 53 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
379 MWNameplate
Generators
4 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
March 1978First generator online
Operator
Empire District Electric CoEIA operator ID 5860
Grid
SPPBalancing authority SWPP
Price nodes
4 SPP nodesResource nodes with prices
Location
Jasper County, MO37.1385, −94.1041
EIA plant ID
6223EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Empire produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

144 GWh

143,801 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

4.3%

2024: 4.0%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2016 to 2025

93.6–236.0

GWh a year. Low 2016, high 2020

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000105,791Not reported12 of 12
200182,273Not reported12 of 12
200215,615Not reported12 of 12
200363,283Not reported12 of 12
200445,202Not reported12 of 12
2005101,033Not reported12 of 12
2006110,256Not reported12 of 12
200779,263Not reported12 of 12
200880,161Not reported12 of 12
200996,312Not reported12 of 12
201097,4492.9%12 of 12
201159,5451.8%12 of 12
201276,1872.3%12 of 12
201348,8991.5%12 of 12
2014112,1903.4%12 of 12
201584,9963.4%9 of 12
201693,5962.8%12 of 12
2017220,8716.7%12 of 12
2018117,9523.6%12 of 12
2019114,7993.5%12 of 12
2020236,0337.1%12 of 12
20213,3081.2%1 of 12
202216,3105.8%1 of 12
20235,3371.9%1 of 12
2024133,8974.0%12 of 12
2025143,8014.3%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · SPP

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

CO₂, 2025

114,548

US short tons. 2024: 101,112

SO₂, 2025

1

US short tons

NOx, 2025

109

US short tons

CO₂ per MWh, calculated

0.80 t

About 1,593 lb per MWh

6 of 6 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, 2, 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B), matched to EIA plant 6223 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine129.0March 1978
2Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine129.0June 1981
3Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine60.5April 2003
4Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine60.5April 2003

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Empire District Electric Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Empire Energy Center and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Empire

More plants operated by Empire District Electric Co

Questions about Empire

How much power does Empire Energy Center produce?

Empire Energy Center reported 143,801 MWh (144 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 4.3% capacity factor on 379 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Empire Energy Center?

Empire Energy Center is in Jasper County, Missouri, at 37.1385, −94.1041. It is in the Southwest Power Pool balancing area (SWPP).

Who operates Empire Energy Center?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Empire District Electric Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 5860). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Empire Energy Center start operating?

Its first generator began operating in March 1978, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Empire Energy Center?

Yes. InfraMap has SPP day-ahead and real-time prices at 4 price nodes linked to Empire Energy Center, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
  • SPP day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page