HydroOperatingNYISO

Black River

Hydro power plant in Jefferson County, New York. 6 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Erie Boulevard Hydropower LP.

Also known as Black River Power Dam Station · EIA plant 2546

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

KamargoWatertownSt. Lawrence University - SuttonBlack River5 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 8.9 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
6 MWNameplate
Generators
3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
January 1920First generator online
Operator
Erie Boulevard Hydropower LPEIA operator ID 5914
Grid
NYISOBalancing authority NYIS
Price nodes
1 NYISO nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Jefferson County, NY44.0001, −75.8131
EIA plant ID
2546EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Black River produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

32.5 GWh

32,488 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

61.8%

2024: 51.3%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

23.2–38.7

GWh a year. Low 2016, high 2019

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
200135,881Not reported12 of 12
200239,640Not reported12 of 12
200342,072Not reported12 of 12
20044,178Not reported12 of 12
200541,875Not reported12 of 12
200646,229Not reported12 of 12
200731,252Not reported12 of 12
200840,529Not reported12 of 12
200941,601Not reported12 of 12
201033,83764.4%12 of 12
201138,82373.9%12 of 12
201227,88052.9%12 of 12
201329,84556.8%12 of 12
201433,81564.3%12 of 12
201530,34657.7%12 of 12
201623,18644.0%12 of 12
201737,92472.2%12 of 12
201833,52363.8%12 of 12
201938,73273.7%12 of 12
202025,62048.6%12 of 12
202133,25463.3%12 of 12
202234,35965.4%12 of 12
202329,07555.3%12 of 12
202427,06351.3%12 of 12
202532,48861.8%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · NYISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric2.0January 1920
2Conventional Hydroelectric2.0January 1920
3Conventional Hydroelectric2.0January 1920

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Erie Boulevard Hydropower LP as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Black River and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Black River

More plants operated by Erie Boulevard Hydropower LP

Questions about Black River

How much power does Black River produce?

Black River reported 32,488 MWh (32.5 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 61.8% capacity factor on 6 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Black River?

Black River is in Jefferson County, New York, at 44.0001, −75.8132. It is in the New York Independent System Operator balancing area (NYIS).

Who operates Black River?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Erie Boulevard Hydropower LP as the operator (EIA operator ID 5914). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Black River start operating?

Its first generator began operating in January 1920, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Black River?

Yes. InfraMap has NYISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Black River, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • NYISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page