SolarOperatingNYISO

St. Lawrence University - Sutton

Solar power plant in Jefferson County, New York. 2 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by AES Distributed Energy.

Also known as St. Lawrence University-Sutton · EIA plant 61579

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

WatertownBlack RiverSt. Lawrence Universi…5 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 8.9 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
2 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
July 2018First generator online
Operator
AES Distributed EnergyEIA operator ID 61012
Grid
NYISOBalancing authority NYIS
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Jefferson County, NY43.9324, −75.8723
EIA plant ID
61579EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power St. Lawrence University - Sutton produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

2.37 GWh

2,371 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

13.5%

2024: 13.6%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2019 to 2025

2.4–2.9

GWh a year. Low 2022, high 2020

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2009Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2010Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2011Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2012Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2013Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2014Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2015Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2016Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2017Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2018989Not reported6 of 12
20192,80516.0%12 of 12
20202,90616.5%12 of 12
20212,88916.5%12 of 12
20222,36513.5%12 of 12
20232,61614.9%12 of 12
20242,39413.6%12 of 12
20252,37113.5%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
SUT01Solar Photovoltaic2.0July 2018

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists AES Distributed Energy as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Modeled curtailment

A range, not one number. The lower bound counts hours inside the production tax credit window; the upper bound is the no-credit case.

Modeled

Expected vs reported generation

Monthly modeled expected output and physical potential next to EIA-923 reported output.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query St. Lawrence University - Sutton and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near St. Lawrence University - Sutton

More plants operated by AES Distributed Energy

Questions about St. Lawrence University - Sutton

How much power does St. Lawrence University - Sutton produce?

St. Lawrence University - Sutton reported 2,371 MWh (2.37 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 13.5% capacity factor on 2 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is St. Lawrence University - Sutton?

St. Lawrence University - Sutton is in Jefferson County, New York, at 43.9324, −75.8723. It is in the New York Independent System Operator balancing area (NYIS).

Who operates St. Lawrence University - Sutton?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists AES Distributed Energy as the operator (EIA operator ID 61012). The operator is not always the owner.

When did St. Lawrence University - Sutton start operating?

Its first generator began operating in July 2018, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • Project names from the USGS U.S. Large-Scale Solar Photovoltaic Database

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page