Dan River
Natural gas power plant in Rockingham County, North Carolina. 697.9 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC.
Also known as Dan River Combined Cycle Station · EIA plant 2723
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 697.9 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- December 2012First generator online
- Operator
- Duke Energy Carolinas, LLCEIA operator ID 5416
- Grid
- DUKBalancing authority DUK
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Rockingham County, NC36.4862, −79.7208
- EIA plant ID
- 2723EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Dan River produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
3.93 TWh
3,928,215 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
64.3%
2024: 75.4%
January to July 2026
2.64 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
3.7–5.0
TWh a year. Low 2023, high 2018
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 915,494 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 737,869 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 516,712 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 903,569 | Not reported | 10 of 12 |
| 2004 | 720,663 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 649,164 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 1,049,228 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 1,060,122 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2009 | 171,380 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 594,720 | 17.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 252,251 | 7.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2013 | 3,985,918 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 2,846,905 | 70.1% | 8 of 12 |
| 2015 | 4,551,455 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 4,824,316 | 78.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 4,892,426 | 80.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 4,962,258 | 81.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 4,394,833 | 71.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 4,456,737 | 72.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 4,173,444 | 68.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 4,110,015 | 67.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 3,729,478 | 61.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 4,619,858 | 75.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 3,928,215 | 64.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 2,636,696 | 74.3% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
1.67M
US short tons. 2024: 1.97M
SO₂, 2025
1
US short tons
NOx, 2025
409
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.43 t
About 852 lb per MWh
2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, 2, 3, 4C, 5C, 6C, 8C, 9C), matched to EIA plant 2723 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
1,281
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
1,079
million gallons
Source
Dan River
Surface, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Very low/none · 0.134
USGS SUI, HUC12 Town Creek-Dan River
12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the source river HUC12 within 3 km. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| CT8 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 185.3 | December 2012 |
| CT9 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 185.3 | December 2012 |
| ST7 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 327.3 | December 2012 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Dan River and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Dan River
More plants operated by Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC
Questions about Dan River
How much power does Dan River produce?
Dan River reported 3,928,215 MWh (3.93 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 64.3% capacity factor on 697.9 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 2.64 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Dan River?
Dan River is in Rockingham County, North Carolina, at 36.4862, −79.7208. It is in the Duke Energy Carolinas balancing area (DUK).
Who operates Dan River?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 5416). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Dan River start operating?
Its first generator began operating in December 2012, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page