HydroOperatingCAISO

Salt Springs

Hydro power plant in Amador County, California. 42 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Pacific Gas & Electric Co..

Also known as Salt Springs Powerhouse · EIA plant 279

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Spicer Meadow ProjectTiger CreekWest Point PHDonnellsBeardsleySand Bar Power PlantSalt Springs20 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 35 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
42 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
June 1931First generator online
Operator
Pacific Gas & Electric Co.EIA operator ID 14328
Grid
CAISOBalancing authority CISO
Price nodes
1 CAISO nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Amador County, CA38.4979, −120.2181
EIA plant ID
279EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Salt Springs produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

113 GWh

113,368 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

30.8%

2024: 29.2%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

67.1–226.2

GWh a year. Low 2015, high 2017

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000233,176Not reported12 of 12
2001119,387Not reported12 of 12
2002225,456Not reported12 of 12
2003215,708Not reported12 of 12
2004155,720Not reported12 of 12
2005240,379Not reported12 of 12
2006263,018Not reported12 of 12
2007116,759Not reported12 of 12
2008134,553Not reported12 of 12
2009181,696Not reported12 of 12
2010160,34043.6%12 of 12
2011230,70562.7%12 of 12
2012146,20039.6%12 of 12
2013122,51933.3%12 of 12
2014106,54029.0%12 of 12
201567,07018.2%12 of 12
2016174,89347.4%12 of 12
2017226,24161.5%12 of 12
2018125,73334.2%12 of 12
2019191,54052.1%12 of 12
2020109,10229.6%12 of 12
202169,59018.9%12 of 12
2022128,14334.8%12 of 12
2023200,84754.6%12 of 12
2024107,74929.2%12 of 12
2025113,36830.8%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · CAISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric12.3June 1931
2Conventional Hydroelectric29.7April 1953

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Pacific Gas & Electric Co. as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Salt Springs and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Salt Springs

More plants operated by Pacific Gas & Electric Co.

Questions about Salt Springs

How much power does Salt Springs produce?

Salt Springs reported 113,368 MWh (113 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 30.8% capacity factor on 42 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Salt Springs?

Salt Springs is in Amador County, California, at 38.4979, −120.2181. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).

Who operates Salt Springs?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Pacific Gas & Electric Co. as the operator (EIA operator ID 14328). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Salt Springs start operating?

Its first generator began operating in June 1931, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Salt Springs?

Yes. InfraMap has CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Salt Springs, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page