CoalOilOperatingPJM

Painesville

Coal power plant in Lake County, Ohio. 40.5 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by City of Painesville - (OH).

Also known as Painesville Power Plant · EIA plant 2936

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

PerryEuclid Farm, Stamco N-54GenevaCleveland PeakingPainesville20 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 34 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
40.5 MWCoal 38.5 · Oil 2.0
Generators
3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
January 1965First generator online
Operator
City of Painesville - (OH)EIA operator ID 14381
Grid
PJMBalancing authority PJM
Price nodes
1 PJM nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Lake County, OH41.7265, −81.2540
EIA plant ID
2936EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Painesville produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

1.22 GWh

1,218 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

0.3%

2024: 0.2%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

0.0–10.4

GWh a year. Low 2022, high 2016

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000157,025Not reported12 of 12
2001143,321Not reported12 of 12
2002157,970Not reported12 of 12
2003168,631Not reported12 of 12
2004165,575Not reported12 of 12
2005212,231Not reported12 of 12
2006206,685Not reported12 of 12
200720,804Not reported1 of 12
2008232,150Not reported12 of 12
2009108,460Not reported12 of 12
201085,989Not reported12 of 12
201177,70216.0%12 of 12
201222,6924.7%12 of 12
201312,4272.6%12 of 12
20144,8361.0%12 of 12
20159,4401.9%12 of 12
201610,3972.1%12 of 12
20173,3330.7%12 of 12
20183,3690.7%12 of 12
20192,6560.5%12 of 12
20201,9000.4%12 of 12
20219550.2%12 of 12
2022380.0%12 of 12
20237490.2%12 of 12
20241,0060.2%12 of 12
20251,2180.3%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · PJM

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
5Conventional Steam Coal16.5January 1965
7Conventional Steam Coal22.0February 1990
WPCP1Petroleum Liquids2.0February 2010

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists City of Painesville - (OH) as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Painesville and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Painesville

Questions about Painesville

How much power does Painesville produce?

Painesville reported 1,218 MWh (1.22 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 0.3% capacity factor on 40.5 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Painesville?

Painesville is in Lake County, Ohio, at 41.7265, −81.2540. It is in the PJM Interconnection, LLC balancing area (PJM).

Who operates Painesville?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists City of Painesville - (OH) as the operator (EIA operator ID 14381). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Painesville start operating?

Its first generator began operating in January 1965, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Painesville?

Yes. InfraMap has PJM day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Painesville, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • PJM day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page