Canaan
Hydro power plant in Essex County, Vermont. 1.1 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Central Rivers Power NH, LLC.
Also known as Canaan Power Plant · EIA plant 3750
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 1.1 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- August 1927First generator online
- Operator
- Central Rivers Power NH, LLCEIA operator ID 62775
- Grid
- ISO-NEBalancing authority ISNE
- Price nodes
- 1 ISONE nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Essex County, VT44.9993, −71.5302
- EIA plant ID
- 3750EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Canaan produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
6.26 GWh
6,258 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
64.9%
2024: 66.9%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
3.7–7.5
GWh a year. Low 2018, high 2017
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 7,461 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 5,893 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 7,638 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 5,225 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 6,939 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 6,789 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 8,489 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 7,264 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 8,614 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 5,607 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 7,083 | 73.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 6,016 | 62.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 5,564 | 57.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 6,000 | 62.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 7,081 | 73.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 7,179 | 74.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 5,365 | 55.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 7,465 | 77.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 3,722 | 38.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 6,106 | 63.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 5,788 | 59.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 4,118 | 42.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 5,694 | 59.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 7,335 | 76.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 6,461 | 66.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 6,258 | 64.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · ISONEEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Conventional Hydroelectric | 1.1 | August 1927 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Central Rivers Power NH, LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Canaan and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Canaan
More plants operated by Central Rivers Power NH, LLC
Questions about Canaan
How much power does Canaan produce?
Canaan reported 6,258 MWh (6.26 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 64.9% capacity factor on 1.1 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Canaan?
Canaan is in Essex County, Vermont, at 44.9993, −71.5302. It is in the ISO New England Inc. balancing area (ISNE).
Who operates Canaan?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Central Rivers Power NH, LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 62775). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Canaan start operating?
Its first generator began operating in August 1927, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Canaan?
Yes. InfraMap has ISONE day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Canaan, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- ISONE day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page