El Centro Hybrid
Natural gas project in Imperial County, California. 388.3 MW of nameplate capacity across 7 generators, operated by Imperial Irrigation District.
Also known as El Centro Power Plant · EIA plant 389
This project groups El Centro Hybrid (EIA 389). EIA reports them as separate plants.
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 388.3 MWNatural gas 358.3 · Battery storage 30.0
- Generators
- 7 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- August 1952First generator online
- Operator
- Imperial Irrigation DistrictEIA operator ID 9216
- Grid
- IIDBalancing authority IID
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Imperial County, CA32.8022, −115.5400
- EIA plant ID
- 389EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power El Centro Hybrid produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
1.09 TWh
1,089,743 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
34.8%
2024: 33.1%
January to July 2026
419 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
0.6–1.1
TWh a year. Low 2020, high 2025
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 690,225 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 492,233 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 421,736 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 489,440 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 510,297 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 552,835 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 442,927 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 431,444 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 508,470 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 522,982 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 578,350 | 25.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 771,102 | 42.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 912,367 | 43.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 1,186,126 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 1,165,974 | 37.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 998,997 | 31.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 232,489 | Not reported | 3 of 12 |
| 2017 | 1,044,631 | 33.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 750,463 | 24.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 638,280 | 20.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 633,390 | 20.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 952,727 | 30.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 1,042,262 | 33.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 1,086,938 | 34.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 1,038,712 | 33.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 1,089,743 | 34.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 419,411 | 23.1% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
548,461
US short tons. 2024: 539,569
SO₂, 2025
3
US short tons
NOx, 2025
92
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.50 t
About 1,007 lb per MWh
4 of 4 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (2-2, 3-1, 3-2, 4), matched to EIA plant 389 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
1,550
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
1,448
million gallons
Source
Dogwood Canal
Surface, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Severe · 1.000
USGS SUI, HUC12 Town of El Centro
24 of 36 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the HUC12 containing the plant. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 34.5 | August 1952 |
| 2A | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 89.9 | June 1993 |
| 4 | Natural Gas Steam Turbine | 81.6 | August 1968 |
| 30 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 65.9 | October 2012 |
| 31 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 43.2 | October 2012 |
| 32 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 43.2 | October 2012 |
| BESS | Batteries | 30.0 | October 2016 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Imperial Irrigation District as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query El Centro Hybrid and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near El Centro Hybrid
More plants operated by Imperial Irrigation District
Questions about El Centro Hybrid
How much power does El Centro Hybrid produce?
El Centro Hybrid reported 1,089,743 MWh (1.09 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 34.8% capacity factor on 388.3 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 419 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is El Centro Hybrid?
El Centro Hybrid is in Imperial County, California, at 32.8022, −115.5400. It is in the Imperial Irrigation District balancing area (IID).
Who operates El Centro Hybrid?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Imperial Irrigation District as the operator (EIA operator ID 9216). The operator is not always the owner.
When did El Centro Hybrid start operating?
Its first generator began operating in August 1952, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page