Valley (CA)
Natural gas power plant in Los Angeles County, California. 690.5 MW of nameplate capacity across 4 generators, operated by Los Angeles Department of Water & Power.
Also known as LADWP Valley Generating Station · EIA plant 408
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 690.5 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 4 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- August 2001First generator online
- Operator
- Los Angeles Department of Water & PowerEIA operator ID 11208
- Grid
- LDWPBalancing authority LDWP
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Los Angeles County, CA34.2450, −118.3913
- EIA plant ID
- 408EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Valley (CA) produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
1.04 TWh
1,039,599 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
17.2%
2024: 25.0%
January to July 2026
506 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2016 to 2025
0.8–2.2
TWh a year. Low 2020, high 2019
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 170,485 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 151,511 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 53,994 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 133,055 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 1,975,076 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 2,491,349 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 2,200,596 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 3,088,421 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 777,569 | Not reported | 6 of 12 |
| 2009 | 2,564,342 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 1,543,868 | 22.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 1,233,261 | 17.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 3,221,402 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 926,921 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 957,631 | 23.6% | 8 of 12 |
| 2015 | 1,016,708 | 18.2% | 11 of 12 |
| 2016 | 1,814,767 | 29.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 1,477,272 | 24.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 1,491,978 | 24.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 2,241,784 | 37.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 843,418 | 13.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 1,192,624 | 19.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 2,075,370 | 34.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 1,509,011 | 24.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 1,514,255 | 25.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 1,039,599 | 17.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 505,613 | 14.4% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
445,287
US short tons. 2024: 641,354
SO₂, 2025
2
US short tons
NOx, 2025
31
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.43 t
About 857 lb per MWh
3 of 3 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (5, 6, 7), matched to EIA plant 408 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
412
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
317
million gallons
Source
Municipality
Other, Other. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Moderate · 0.500
USGS SUI, HUC12 Tujunga Wash-Los Angeles River
12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the HUC12 containing the plant. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 60.5 | August 2001 |
| 6 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 182.8 | September 2003 |
| 7 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 182.8 | September 2003 |
| 8 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 264.4 | November 2003 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Los Angeles Department of Water & Power as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Valley (CA) and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Valley (CA)
More plants operated by Los Angeles Department of Water & Power
Questions about Valley (CA)
How much power does Valley (CA) produce?
Valley (CA) reported 1,039,599 MWh (1.04 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 17.2% capacity factor on 690.5 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 506 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is Valley (CA)?
Valley (CA) is in Los Angeles County, California, at 34.2450, −118.3913. It is in the Los Angeles Department of Water and Power balancing area (LDWP).
Who operates Valley (CA)?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Los Angeles Department of Water & Power as the operator (EIA operator ID 11208). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Valley (CA) start operating?
Its first generator began operating in August 2001, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page