Dave Johnston
Coal power plant in Converse County, Wyoming. 816.7 MW of nameplate capacity across 4 generators, operated by PacifiCorp.
Also known as Dave Johnston Plant · EIA plant 4158
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 816.7 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 4 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- February 1959First generator online
- Operator
- PacifiCorpEIA operator ID 14354
- Grid
- PACEBalancing authority PACE
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Converse County, WY42.8378, −105.7769
- EIA plant ID
- 4158EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Dave Johnston produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
4.27 TWh
4,273,471 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
59.7%
2024: 53.5%
January to July 2026
1.28 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
3.5–5.1
TWh a year. Low 2023, high 2015
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 5,667,380 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 5,633,726 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 5,759,784 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 5,302,528 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 5,824,643 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 5,684,004 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 5,776,835 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 5,696,857 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 5,638,804 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 5,017,796 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 4,707,330 | 65.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 5,058,930 | 70.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 4,906,510 | 68.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 5,295,074 | 74.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 5,183,444 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 5,140,970 | 63.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 5,088,504 | 62.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 4,519,978 | 56.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 4,800,371 | 59.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 4,686,379 | 58.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 4,325,604 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 3,601,242 | 44.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 3,581,919 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 3,537,397 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 3,839,047 | 53.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 4,273,471 | 59.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 1,277,567 | 30.7% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
5.30M
US short tons. 2024: 4.83M
SO₂, 2025
7,255
US short tons
NOx, 2025
5,617
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
1.24 t
About 2,479 lb per MWh
4 of 4 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (BW41, BW42, BW43, BW44), matched to EIA plant 4158 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
53,457
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
1,648
million gallons
Source
North Platte River
Surface, Fresh. Once-through
Watershed stress
Very low/none · 0.169
USGS SUI, HUC12 Dry Creek-North Platte River
48 of 48 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the source river HUC12 within 3 km. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Conventional Steam Coal | 113.6 | February 1959 |
| 2 | Conventional Steam Coal | 113.6 | January 1961 |
| 3 | Conventional Steam Coal | 229.5 | December 1964 |
| 4 | Conventional Steam Coal | 360.0 | July 1972 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists PacifiCorp as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Dave Johnston and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Dave Johnston
More plants operated by PacifiCorp
Questions about Dave Johnston
How much power does Dave Johnston produce?
Dave Johnston reported 4,273,471 MWh (4.27 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 59.7% capacity factor on 816.7 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 1.28 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Dave Johnston?
Dave Johnston is in Converse County, Wyoming, at 42.8378, −105.7769. It is in the PacifiCorp - East balancing area (PACE).
Who operates Dave Johnston?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists PacifiCorp as the operator (EIA operator ID 14354). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Dave Johnston start operating?
Its first generator began operating in February 1959, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page