Lake Side Power Plant
Natural gas power plant in Utah County, Utah. 1,246.5 MW of nameplate capacity across 6 generators, operated by PacifiCorp.
Also known as EIA plant 56237
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 1,246.5 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 6 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- September 2007First generator online
- Operator
- PacifiCorpEIA operator ID 14354
- Grid
- PACEBalancing authority PACE
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Utah County, UT40.3317, −111.7542
- EIA plant ID
- 56237EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Lake Side produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
6.05 TWh
6,049,458 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
55.4%
2024: 55.8%
January to July 2026
3.45 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
3.3–6.6
TWh a year. Low 2017, high 2022
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2007 | 1,619,621 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 2,814,387 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 2,297,637 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 2,568,927 | 49.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 1,851,303 | 35.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 2,890,938 | 55.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 2,508,960 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 4,358,737 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 4,549,274 | 37.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 5,726,042 | 47.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 3,340,561 | 27.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 4,861,169 | 40.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 5,063,902 | 41.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 5,560,112 | 45.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 6,389,355 | 52.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 6,578,673 | 54.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 6,454,629 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 6,106,345 | 55.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 6,049,458 | 55.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 3,450,077 | 54.4% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
2.58M
US short tons. 2024: 2.66M
SO₂, 2025
13
US short tons
NOx, 2025
151
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.43 t
About 853 lb per MWh
4 of 4 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (CT01, CT02, CT03, CT04), matched to EIA plant 56237 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
1,547
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
1,338
million gallons
Source
Wells
Ground, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Very low/none · 0.193
USGS SUI, HUC12 Lower American Fork-Frontal Utah Lake
24 of 24 cooling months report withdrawal. Groundwater user; SUI describes surface water and is context only. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| CT01 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 182.7 | September 2007 |
| CT02 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 182.7 | September 2007 |
| CT21 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 185.4 | May 2014 |
| CT22 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 185.4 | May 2014 |
| ST01 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 225.9 | September 2007 |
| ST2 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 284.4 | May 2014 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists PacifiCorp as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Lake Side Power Plant and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Lake Side
More plants operated by PacifiCorp
Questions about Lake Side
How much power does Lake Side Power Plant produce?
Lake Side Power Plant reported 6,049,458 MWh (6.05 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 55.4% capacity factor on 1,246.5 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 3.45 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Lake Side Power Plant?
Lake Side Power Plant is in Utah County, Utah, at 40.3317, −111.7542. It is in the PacifiCorp - East balancing area (PACE).
Who operates Lake Side Power Plant?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists PacifiCorp as the operator (EIA operator ID 14354). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Lake Side Power Plant start operating?
Its first generator began operating in September 2007, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page