Hunter
Coal power plant in Emery County, Utah. 1,472.2 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by PacifiCorp.
Also known as Hunter Power Plant · EIA plant 6165
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 1,472.2 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- June 1978First generator online
- Operator
- PacifiCorpEIA operator ID 14354
- Grid
- PACEBalancing authority PACE
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Emery County, UT39.1747, −111.0289
- EIA plant ID
- 6165EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Hunter produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
6.83 TWh
6,833,658 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
53.0%
2024: 31.4%
January to July 2026
3.58 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
4.1–9.6
TWh a year. Low 2024, high 2015
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 9,527,505 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 8,300,173 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 9,403,380 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 9,943,557 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 9,967,970 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 9,742,633 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 9,896,224 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 8,745,440 | Not reported | 11 of 12 |
| 2008 | 10,246,965 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 9,438,683 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 8,785,827 | 68.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 8,719,288 | 67.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 9,118,876 | 70.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 9,546,313 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 9,098,918 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 9,630,419 | 69.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 8,161,219 | 58.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 8,582,142 | 62.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 8,293,966 | 60.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 8,681,798 | 62.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 7,988,203 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 9,248,963 | 66.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 7,381,184 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 3,594,294 | Not reported | 11 of 12 |
| 2024 | 4,066,271 | 31.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 6,833,658 | 53.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 3,579,502 | 47.8% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
7.90M
US short tons. 2024: 4.92M
SO₂, 2025
3,108
US short tons
NOx, 2025
8,033
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
1.16 t
About 2,311 lb per MWh
3 of 3 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, 2, 3), matched to EIA plant 6165 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
2,871
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
2,871
million gallons
Source
Cottonwood Creek
Surface, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Severe · 0.954
USGS SUI, HUC12 Lower Rock Canyon Creek
36 of 36 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the HUC12 containing the plant. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Conventional Steam Coal | 488.3 | June 1978 |
| 2 | Conventional Steam Coal | 488.3 | June 1980 |
| 3 | Conventional Steam Coal | 495.6 | June 1983 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists PacifiCorp as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Hunter and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Hunter
More plants operated by PacifiCorp
Questions about Hunter
How much power does Hunter produce?
Hunter reported 6,833,658 MWh (6.83 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 53.0% capacity factor on 1,472.2 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 3.58 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Hunter?
Hunter is in Emery County, Utah, at 39.1747, −111.0289. It is in the PacifiCorp - East balancing area (PACE).
Who operates Hunter?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists PacifiCorp as the operator (EIA operator ID 14354). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Hunter start operating?
Its first generator began operating in June 1978, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page