FWA Central Heat and Power Plant
Coal power plant in Fairbanks North Star, Alaska. 20 MW of nameplate capacity across 4 generators, operated by Doyon Utilities - Ft. Wainwright.
Also known as Utility Plants Section · EIA plant 50308
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 20 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 4 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- January 1955First generator online
- Operator
- Doyon Utilities - Ft. WainwrightEIA operator ID 56389
- Grid
- Not reported
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Fairbanks North Star, AK64.8256, −147.6486
- EIA plant ID
- 50308EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power FWA Central Heat and produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
66.7 GWh
66,713 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
38.1%
2024: 37.8%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
64.0–119.2
GWh a year. Low 2023, high 2015
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | 89,689 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 94,197 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | 129,041 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 99,301 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 85,078 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 103,282 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 105,474 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 95,820 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 107,245 | 54.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 143,878 | 73.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 149,725 | 75.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 135,055 | 77.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 71,043 | 40.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 119,233 | 68.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 105,551 | 60.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 106,212 | 60.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 90,177 | 51.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 71,202 | 40.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 68,739 | 39.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 65,058 | 37.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 65,722 | 37.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 64,020 | 36.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 66,386 | 37.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 66,713 | 38.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| GEN1 | Conventional Steam Coal | 5.0 | January 1955 |
| GEN3 | Conventional Steam Coal | 5.0 | January 1955 |
| GEN4 | Conventional Steam Coal | 5.0 | January 1955 |
| GEN5 | Conventional Steam Coal | 5.0 | January 1989 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Doyon Utilities - Ft. Wainwright as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query FWA Central Heat and Power Plant and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near FWA Central Heat and
Questions about FWA Central Heat and
How much power does FWA Central Heat and Power Plant produce?
FWA Central Heat and Power Plant reported 66,713 MWh (66.7 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 38.1% capacity factor on 20 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is FWA Central Heat and Power Plant?
FWA Central Heat and Power Plant is in Fairbanks North Star, Alaska, at 64.8256, −147.6486.
Who operates FWA Central Heat and Power Plant?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Doyon Utilities - Ft. Wainwright as the operator (EIA operator ID 56389). The operator is not always the owner.
When did FWA Central Heat and Power Plant start operating?
Its first generator began operating in January 1955, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page