North Pole
Oil power plant in Fairbanks North Star, Alaska. 181 MW of nameplate capacity across 4 generators, operated by Golden Valley Elec Assn Inc.
Also known as North Pole Power Plant · EIA plant 6285
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 181 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 4 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- December 1976First generator online
- Operator
- Golden Valley Elec Assn IncEIA operator ID 7353
- Grid
- NABalancing authority NA
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Fairbanks North Star, AK64.7356, −147.3481
- EIA plant ID
- 6285EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power North Pole produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
611 GWh
611,125 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
38.5%
2024: 30.9%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2019 to 2025
431.3–611.1
GWh a year. Low 2019, high 2025
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 335,913 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 579,928 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 545,999 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 454,510 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 360,593 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 358,301 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 330,933 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 480,897 | Not reported | 10 of 12 |
| 2008 | 512,716 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 705,213 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 520,322 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 486,541 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 590,971 | 37.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 390,644 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 191,656 | Not reported | 8 of 12 |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2016 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2017 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2018 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2019 | 431,296 | 27.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 546,068 | 34.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 464,977 | 29.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2023 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2024 | 491,508 | 30.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 611,125 | 38.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Petroleum Liquids | 60.5 | December 1976 |
| 2 | Petroleum Liquids | 60.5 | February 1977 |
| GT3 | Petroleum Liquids | 47.0 | March 2007 |
| STG1 | Petroleum Liquids | 13.0 | March 2007 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Golden Valley Elec Assn Inc as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query North Pole and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near North Pole
More plants operated by Golden Valley Elec Assn Inc
Questions about North Pole
How much power does North Pole produce?
North Pole reported 611,125 MWh (611 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 38.5% capacity factor on 181 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is North Pole?
North Pole is in Fairbanks North Star, Alaska, at 64.7356, −147.3481. It is in the No BA balancing area (NA).
Who operates North Pole?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Golden Valley Elec Assn Inc as the operator (EIA operator ID 7353). The operator is not always the owner.
When did North Pole start operating?
Its first generator began operating in December 1976, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page