HydroOperatingWACM

Morrow Point

Hydro power plant in Montrose County, Colorado. 173.2 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by U S Bureau of Reclamation.

Also known as EIA plant 514

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

CrystalBlue MesaSouth Canal Hydro-1Drop 5 (CO)Morrow Point10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 24 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
173.2 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
December 1970First generator online
Operator
U S Bureau of ReclamationEIA operator ID 2518
Grid
WACMBalancing authority WACM
Price nodes
1 SPP nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Montrose County, CO38.4518, −107.5393
EIA plant ID
514EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Morrow Point produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

263 GWh

262,820 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

17.3%

2024: 20.4%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

207.4–341.5

GWh a year. Low 2022, high 2015

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000314,962Not reported12 of 12
2001267,768Not reported12 of 12
2002210,125Not reported12 of 12
2003197,050Not reported12 of 12
2004196,980Not reported12 of 12
2005273,392Not reported12 of 12
2006319,281Not reported12 of 12
2007293,304Not reported12 of 12
2008467,427Not reported12 of 12
2009375,987Not reported12 of 12
2010271,64017.9%12 of 12
2011426,28328.1%12 of 12
2012234,19315.4%12 of 12
2013183,43112.1%12 of 12
2014295,79119.5%12 of 12
2015341,54522.5%12 of 12
2016326,77521.5%12 of 12
2017338,51422.3%12 of 12
2018321,44721.2%12 of 12
2019296,88719.6%12 of 12
2020310,97320.4%12 of 12
2021243,77816.1%12 of 12
2022207,41613.7%12 of 12
2023273,89418.1%12 of 12
2024309,76420.4%12 of 12
2025262,82017.3%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · SPP

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric86.6December 1970
2Conventional Hydroelectric86.6January 1971

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists U S Bureau of Reclamation as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Morrow Point and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Morrow Point

More plants operated by U S Bureau of Reclamation

Questions about Morrow Point

How much power does Morrow Point produce?

Morrow Point reported 262,820 MWh (263 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 17.3% capacity factor on 173.2 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Morrow Point?

Morrow Point is in Montrose County, Colorado, at 38.4518, −107.5393. It is in the Western Area Power Administration - Rocky Mountain Region balancing area (WACM).

Who operates Morrow Point?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists U S Bureau of Reclamation as the operator (EIA operator ID 2518). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Morrow Point start operating?

Its first generator began operating in December 1970, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Morrow Point?

Yes. InfraMap has SPP day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Morrow Point, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • SPP day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page