HydroOperatingWACM

Big Thompson

Hydro power plant in Larimer County, Colorado. 4.5 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by U S Bureau of Reclamation.

Also known as Big Thompson Power Plant · EIA plant 515

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

FlatironPole HillCarter HydroCoyote Ridge Community SolarCO- CSU- Fort CollinsCO- CSU- Fort Collins IIBig Thompson10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 20 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
4.5 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
April 1959First generator online
Operator
U S Bureau of ReclamationEIA operator ID 2518
Grid
WACMBalancing authority WACM
Price nodes
1 SPP nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Larimer County, CO40.4210, −105.2238
EIA plant ID
515EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Big Thompson produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

3.26 GWh

3,257 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

8.3%

2024: 10.0%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

1.3–8.2

GWh a year. Low 2018, high 2019

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
20009,952Not reported12 of 12
20017,663Not reported12 of 12
20023,540Not reported12 of 12
20039,933Not reported12 of 12
200410,522Not reported12 of 12
20058,640Not reported12 of 12
20068,576Not reported12 of 12
20072,518Not reported12 of 12
200810,037Not reported12 of 12
20099,682Not reported12 of 12
20109,11223.1%12 of 12
201111,45629.1%12 of 12
20124,80512.2%12 of 12
20137,22318.3%12 of 12
20142,0065.1%12 of 12
20154,12310.5%12 of 12
20165,72214.5%12 of 12
20177,62719.3%12 of 12
20181,2513.2%12 of 12
20198,23120.9%12 of 12
20204,92912.5%12 of 12
20214,97312.6%12 of 12
20225,34213.6%12 of 12
20234,24410.8%12 of 12
20243,96610.0%12 of 12
20253,2578.3%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · SPP

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric4.5April 1959

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists U S Bureau of Reclamation as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Big Thompson and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Big Thompson

More plants operated by U S Bureau of Reclamation

Questions about Big Thompson

How much power does Big Thompson produce?

Big Thompson reported 3,257 MWh (3.26 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 8.3% capacity factor on 4.5 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Big Thompson?

Big Thompson is in Larimer County, Colorado, at 40.4210, −105.2238. It is in the Western Area Power Administration - Rocky Mountain Region balancing area (WACM).

Who operates Big Thompson?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists U S Bureau of Reclamation as the operator (EIA operator ID 2518). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Big Thompson start operating?

Its first generator began operating in April 1959, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Big Thompson?

Yes. InfraMap has SPP day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Big Thompson, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • SPP day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page