WindOperatingERCOT

Big Spring Wind Power Facility

Wind power plant in Howard County, Texas. 34.3 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Terra-Gen Operating Co-Wind.

Also known as Big Spring I · Big Spring II · EIA plant 54979

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Elbow Creek Wind Project LLCC R Wing Cogen PlantGunsight Mountain Wind Energy LLCOcotillo WindpowerPanther Creek Wind Farm IBig Spring Wind Power…5 km
Open in the map
5 plants within 13 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
34.3 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
December 1998First generator online
Operator
Terra-Gen Operating Co-WindEIA operator ID 2770
Grid
ERCOTBalancing authority ERCO
Price nodes
1 ERCOT nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Howard County, TX32.2075, −101.3883
EIA plant ID
54979EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Big Spring Wind Power Facility produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

56.8 GWh

56,793 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

18.9%

2024: 18.6%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

36.7–73.4

GWh a year. Low 2018, high 2020

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
200189,990Not reported12 of 12
200295,427Not reported12 of 12
200390,152Not reported12 of 12
200483,693Not reported12 of 12
200584,013Not reported12 of 12
200689,015Not reported12 of 12
200782,483Not reported12 of 12
200896,220Not reported12 of 12
200968,018Not reported12 of 12
201074,19324.7%12 of 12
201156,29518.7%12 of 12
201267,38722.4%12 of 12
201377,28325.7%12 of 12
201485,99728.6%12 of 12
201572,85424.2%12 of 12
201669,84223.2%12 of 12
201754,86318.3%12 of 12
201836,74712.2%12 of 12
201965,12121.7%12 of 12
202073,44924.4%12 of 12
202160,64420.2%12 of 12
202265,02721.6%12 of 12
202362,50320.8%12 of 12
202455,97718.6%12 of 12
202556,79318.9%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · ERCOT

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
WINDOnshore Wind Turbine34.3December 1998

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Terra-Gen Operating Co-Wind as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Modeled curtailment

A range, not one number. The lower bound counts hours inside the production tax credit window; the upper bound is the no-credit case.

Modeled

Expected vs reported generation

Monthly modeled expected output and physical potential next to EIA-923 reported output.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Big Spring Wind Power Facility and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Big Spring Wind Power Facility

More plants operated by Terra-Gen Operating Co-Wind

Questions about Big Spring Wind Power Facility

How much power does Big Spring Wind Power Facility produce?

Big Spring Wind Power Facility reported 56,793 MWh (56.8 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 18.9% capacity factor on 34.3 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Big Spring Wind Power Facility?

Big Spring Wind Power Facility is in Howard County, Texas, at 32.2075, −101.3883. It is in the Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. balancing area (ERCO).

Who operates Big Spring Wind Power Facility?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Terra-Gen Operating Co-Wind as the operator (EIA operator ID 2770). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Big Spring Wind Power Facility start operating?

Its first generator began operating in December 1998, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Big Spring Wind Power Facility?

Yes. InfraMap has ERCOT day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Big Spring Wind Power Facility, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • ERCOT day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Project names from the USGS U.S. Wind Turbine Database

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page