Tenaska Frontier Generation Station
Natural gas power plant in Grimes County, Texas. 939.7 MW of nameplate capacity across 4 generators, operated by Tenaska Frontier Partners Ltd.
Also known as Tenaska Frontier Generating Station · EIA plant 55062
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 939.7 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 4 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- May 2000First generator online
- Operator
- Tenaska Frontier Partners LtdEIA operator ID 18611
- Grid
- ERCOTBalancing authority ERCO
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Grimes County, TX30.5924, −95.9178
- EIA plant ID
- 55062EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Tenaska Frontier Generation Station produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
3.50 TWh
3,503,759 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
42.6%
2024: 52.1%
January to July 2026
2.51 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
2.6–4.3
TWh a year. Low 2021, high 2022
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 998,623 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 4,335,141 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 4,139,042 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 4,115,632 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 4,165,225 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 4,617,372 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 4,143,008 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 4,625,410 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 2,225,000 | Not reported | 6 of 12 |
| 2009 | 5,040,928 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 3,436,321 | 41.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 3,990,630 | 48.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 4,962,757 | 60.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 4,615,112 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 1,729,164 | 31.3% | 8 of 12 |
| 2015 | 3,578,016 | 43.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 4,091,968 | 49.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 2,823,051 | 34.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 3,566,210 | 43.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 3,993,421 | 48.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 3,700,213 | 44.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 2,587,046 | 31.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 4,312,873 | 52.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 4,173,963 | 50.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 4,297,007 | 52.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 3,503,759 | 42.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 2,511,778 | 52.5% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
1.49M
US short tons. 2024: 1.85M
SO₂, 2025
8
US short tons
NOx, 2025
489
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.42 t
About 848 lb per MWh
3 of 3 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, 2, 3), matched to EIA plant 55062 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
1,026
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
943
million gallons
Source
Municipal
Surface, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Low · 0.217
USGS SUI, HUC12 Flagtail Creek-Lake Creek
12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the HUC12 containing the plant. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| GTG1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 183.2 | May 2000 |
| GTG2 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 183.2 | May 2000 |
| GTG3 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 183.2 | May 2000 |
| STG1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 390.1 | May 2000 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Tenaska Frontier Partners Ltd as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Tenaska Frontier Generation Station and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Tenaska Frontier Generation Station
Questions about Tenaska Frontier Generation Station
How much power does Tenaska Frontier Generation Station produce?
Tenaska Frontier Generation Station reported 3,503,759 MWh (3.50 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 42.6% capacity factor on 939.7 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 2.51 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Tenaska Frontier Generation Station?
Tenaska Frontier Generation Station is in Grimes County, Texas, at 30.5924, −95.9178. It is in the Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. balancing area (ERCO).
Who operates Tenaska Frontier Generation Station?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Tenaska Frontier Partners Ltd as the operator (EIA operator ID 18611). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Tenaska Frontier Generation Station start operating?
Its first generator began operating in May 2000, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page