Osprey Energy Center Power Plant
Natural gas power plant in Polk County, Florida. 644.2 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Duke Energy Florida, LLC.
Also known as EIA plant 55412
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 644.2 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- May 2004First generator online
- Operator
- Duke Energy Florida, LLCEIA operator ID 6455
- Grid
- TECBalancing authority TEC
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Polk County, FL28.0525, −81.8083
- EIA plant ID
- 55412EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Osprey Energy Center produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
3.65 TWh
3,651,198 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
64.7%
2024: 55.3%
January to July 2026
1.79 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
1.8–3.7
TWh a year. Low 2017, high 2025
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | 1,441,702 | Not reported | 8 of 12 |
| 2005 | 1,731,518 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 1,898,493 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 2,228,787 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 2,060,039 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 2,478,289 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 2,155,131 | 38.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 2,444,353 | 43.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 3,127,895 | 55.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 2,679,745 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 1,389,853 | 24.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 2,058,658 | 36.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 2,953,903 | 52.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 1,801,140 | 31.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 1,982,378 | 35.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 2,214,152 | 39.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 2,369,656 | 41.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 2,420,414 | 42.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 1,889,302 | 33.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 2,114,050 | 37.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 3,131,131 | 55.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 3,651,198 | 64.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 1,791,831 | 54.7% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
1.55M
US short tons. 2024: 1.33M
SO₂, 2025
8
US short tons
NOx, 2025
150
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.42 t
About 847 lb per MWh
2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (CT1, CT2), matched to EIA plant 55412 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
805
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
542
million gallons
Source
Wells, Municipality
Discharge, Reclaimed. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Low · 0.355
USGS SUI, HUC12 Lake Ariana
12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. Reclaimed water or plant effluent; not tested. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| OEC1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 192.1 | May 2004 |
| OEC2 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 192.1 | May 2004 |
| OECS | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 260.0 | May 2004 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Duke Energy Florida, LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Osprey Energy Center Power Plant and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Osprey Energy Center
More plants operated by Duke Energy Florida, LLC
Questions about Osprey Energy Center
How much power does Osprey Energy Center Power Plant produce?
Osprey Energy Center Power Plant reported 3,651,198 MWh (3.65 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 64.7% capacity factor on 644.2 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 1.79 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Osprey Energy Center Power Plant?
Osprey Energy Center Power Plant is in Polk County, Florida, at 28.0525, −81.8083. It is in the Tampa Electric Company balancing area (TEC).
Who operates Osprey Energy Center Power Plant?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Duke Energy Florida, LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 6455). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Osprey Energy Center Power Plant start operating?
Its first generator began operating in May 2004, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page