York Energy Center
Natural gas power plant in York County, Pennsylvania. 1,449.4 MW of nameplate capacity across 7 generators, operated by Calpine Mid-Merit LLC.
Also known as Delta Plant · EIA plant 55524
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 1,449.4 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 7 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- March 2011First generator online
- Operator
- Calpine Mid-Merit LLCEIA operator ID 56608
- Grid
- PJMBalancing authority PJM
- Price nodes
- 7 PJM nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- York County, PA39.7375, −76.3067
- EIA plant ID
- 55524EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power York produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
8.79 TWh
8,785,592 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
69.2%
2024: 71.9%
January to July 2026
5.41 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
1.6–9.2
TWh a year. Low 2016, high 2024
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2011 | 1,106,354 | 29.9% | 9 of 12 |
| 2012 | 3,483,387 | 70.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 2,018,737 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 2,537,264 | 51.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 1,976,570 | 40.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 1,552,401 | 31.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 1,590,271 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 1,838,910 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 5,340,573 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 8,565,788 | 67.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 7,648,984 | 60.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 7,125,250 | 56.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 8,631,405 | 68.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 9,155,267 | 71.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 8,785,592 | 69.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 5,410,890 | 73.4% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · PJMEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
1.57M
US short tons. 2024: 1.56M
SO₂, 2025
8
US short tons
NOx, 2025
66
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.18 t
About 357 lb per MWh
3 of 3 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, 2, 3), matched to EIA plant 55524 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
2,679
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
2,093
million gallons
Source
Conowingo Pool
Surface, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Very low/none · 0.123
USGS SUI, HUC12 Fishing Creek-Susquehanna River
12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the HUC12 containing the plant. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| CTG1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 120.0 | March 2011 |
| CTG2 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 120.0 | March 2011 |
| CTG3 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 120.0 | March 2011 |
| CTG5 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 234.9 | March 2019 |
| CTG6 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 234.9 | March 2019 |
| STG1 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 200.0 | March 2011 |
| STG2 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 419.6 | March 2019 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Calpine Mid-Merit LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query York Energy Center and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near York
Questions about York
How much power does York Energy Center produce?
York Energy Center reported 8,785,592 MWh (8.79 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 69.2% capacity factor on 1,449.4 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 5.41 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is York Energy Center?
York Energy Center is in York County, Pennsylvania, at 39.7375, −76.3067. It is in the PJM Interconnection, LLC balancing area (PJM).
Who operates York Energy Center?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Calpine Mid-Merit LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 56608). The operator is not always the owner.
When did York Energy Center start operating?
Its first generator began operating in March 2011, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for York Energy Center?
Yes. InfraMap has PJM day-ahead and real-time prices at 7 price nodes linked to York Energy Center, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- PJM day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page