Yuba City Energy Center
Natural gas power plant in Sutter County, California. 47.3 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Calpine Corp-Yuba City.
Also known as EIA plant 55813
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 47.3 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- August 2002First generator online
- Operator
- Calpine Corp-Yuba CityEIA operator ID 2867
- Grid
- CAISOBalancing authority CISO
- Price nodes
- 1 CAISO nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Sutter County, CA39.1392, −121.6387
- EIA plant ID
- 55813EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Yuba City produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
23.4 GWh
23,431 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
5.7%
2024: 9.4%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
23.4–91.4
GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2021
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | 18,392 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 17,827 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 34,626 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 21,968 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 25,033 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 35,339 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 31,068 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 28,129 | 6.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 14,753 | 3.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 45,663 | 11.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 37,179 | 9.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 26,095 | 6.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 25,102 | 6.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 30,446 | 7.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 37,502 | 9.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 32,148 | 7.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 28,997 | 7.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 56,234 | 13.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 91,381 | 22.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 69,558 | 16.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 49,324 | 11.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 39,062 | 9.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 23,431 | 5.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · CAISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| CTG1 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 47.3 | August 2002 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Calpine Corp-Yuba City as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Yuba City Energy Center and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Yuba City
More plants operated by Calpine Corp-Yuba City
Questions about Yuba City
How much power does Yuba City Energy Center produce?
Yuba City Energy Center reported 23,431 MWh (23.4 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 5.7% capacity factor on 47.3 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Yuba City Energy Center?
Yuba City Energy Center is in Sutter County, California, at 39.1392, −121.6387. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).
Who operates Yuba City Energy Center?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Calpine Corp-Yuba City as the operator (EIA operator ID 2867). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Yuba City Energy Center start operating?
Its first generator began operating in August 2002, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Yuba City Energy Center?
Yes. InfraMap has CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Yuba City Energy Center, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page