Feather River Energy Center
Natural gas power plant in Sutter County, California. 47 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Calpine Corp-Yuba City.
Also known as EIA plant 55847
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 47 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- January 2003First generator online
- Operator
- Calpine Corp-Yuba CityEIA operator ID 2867
- Grid
- CAISOBalancing authority CISO
- Price nodes
- 1 CAISO nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Sutter County, CA39.1093, −121.6093
- EIA plant ID
- 55847EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Feather River produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
35.4 GWh
35,446 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
8.6%
2024: 11.1%
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
12.3–81.3
GWh a year. Low 2019, high 2021
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | 15,362 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 16,502 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 12,767 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 15,662 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 25,533 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 27,035 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 27,236 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 13,526 | 3.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 13,056 | 3.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 36,633 | 8.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 32,353 | 7.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 24,096 | 5.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 26,483 | 6.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 26,059 | 6.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 24,505 | 6.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 33,113 | 8.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 12,321 | 3.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 29,351 | 7.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 81,312 | 19.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 68,183 | 16.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 45,241 | 11.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 45,694 | 11.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 35,446 | 8.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · CAISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
25,438
US short tons. 2024: 32,226
SO₂, 2025
0
US short tons
NOx, 2025
11
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.72 t
About 1,435 lb per MWh
1 of 1 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (UNIT1), matched to EIA plant 55847 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| CTG1 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 47.0 | January 2003 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Calpine Corp-Yuba City as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Feather River Energy Center and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Feather River
More plants operated by Calpine Corp-Yuba City
Questions about Feather River
How much power does Feather River Energy Center produce?
Feather River Energy Center reported 35,446 MWh (35.4 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 8.6% capacity factor on 47 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Feather River Energy Center?
Feather River Energy Center is in Sutter County, California, at 39.1093, −121.6093. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).
Who operates Feather River Energy Center?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Calpine Corp-Yuba City as the operator (EIA operator ID 2867). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Feather River Energy Center start operating?
Its first generator began operating in January 2003, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Feather River Energy Center?
Yes. InfraMap has CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Feather River Energy Center, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page