Jamaica Bay Peaking
Oil power plant in Queens County, New York. 60.5 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Jamaica Bay Peaking Facility, LLC.
Also known as EIA plant 56141
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 60.5 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- July 2003First generator online
- Operator
- Jamaica Bay Peaking Facility, LLCEIA operator ID 49786
- Grid
- NYISOBalancing authority NYIS
- Price nodes
- 1 NYISO nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Queens County, NY40.6097, −73.7622
- EIA plant ID
- 56141EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Jamaica Bay Peaking produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
23.0 GWh
23,009 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
4.3%
2024: Not reported
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
7.4–67.3
GWh a year. Low 2017, high 2022
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | 12,005 | Not reported | 6 of 12 |
| 2004 | 17,399 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 32,273 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 22,178 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 21,948 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 8,820 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 9,835 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 19,757 | 3.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 9,186 | 1.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 6,867 | 1.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 22,296 | 4.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 21,433 | 4.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 19,409 | 3.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 8,837 | 1.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 7,358 | 1.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 9,476 | 1.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 8,289 | 1.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 20,351 | 3.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 37,592 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 67,302 | 12.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 55,510 | 10.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 24,504 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 23,009 | 4.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · NYISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2 | Petroleum Liquids | 60.5 | July 2003 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Jamaica Bay Peaking Facility, LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Jamaica Bay Peaking and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Jamaica Bay Peaking
Questions about Jamaica Bay Peaking
How much power does Jamaica Bay Peaking produce?
Jamaica Bay Peaking reported 23,009 MWh (23.0 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 4.3% capacity factor on 60.5 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Jamaica Bay Peaking?
Jamaica Bay Peaking is in Queens County, New York, at 40.6097, −73.7622. It is in the New York Independent System Operator balancing area (NYIS).
Who operates Jamaica Bay Peaking?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Jamaica Bay Peaking Facility, LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 49786). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Jamaica Bay Peaking start operating?
Its first generator began operating in July 2003, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Jamaica Bay Peaking?
Yes. InfraMap has NYISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Jamaica Bay Peaking, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- NYISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page