Natural gasOperatingSPP

Culbertson Generation Station

Natural gas power plant in Roosevelt County, Montana. 108.2 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Basin Electric Power Coop.

Also known as EIA plant 56606

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Culbertson Generation…20 km
Open in the map
3 plants within 33 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
108.2 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
December 2010First generator online
Operator
Basin Electric Power CoopEIA operator ID 1307
Grid
SPPBalancing authority SWPP
Price nodes
1 SPP nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Roosevelt County, MT48.2100, −104.3917
EIA plant ID
56606EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Culbertson Generation Station produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

231 GWh

231,170 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

24.4%

2024: 26.4%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

45.1–316.6

GWh a year. Low 2017, high 2023

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2009Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
201024,519Not reported12 of 12
201162,944Not reported12 of 12
201264,496Not reported12 of 12
2013127,70116.0%12 of 12
201464,0638.0%12 of 12
2015104,14113.1%12 of 12
201695,98712.0%12 of 12
201745,0795.7%12 of 12
2018110,55413.9%12 of 12
2019116,33714.6%12 of 12
202048,2076.0%12 of 12
2021117,554Not reported12 of 12
2022179,03118.9%12 of 12
2023316,61133.4%12 of 12
2024251,23226.4%12 of 12
2025231,17024.4%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · SPP

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

CO₂, 2025

120,723

US short tons. 2024: 135,497

SO₂, 2025

1

US short tons

NOx, 2025

85

US short tons

CO₂ per MWh, calculated

0.52 t

About 1,044 lb per MWh

1 of 1 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (CT01), matched to EIA plant 56606 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
01Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine108.2December 2010

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Basin Electric Power Coop as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Culbertson Generation Station and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Culbertson Generation Station

More plants operated by Basin Electric Power Coop

Questions about Culbertson Generation Station

How much power does Culbertson Generation Station produce?

Culbertson Generation Station reported 231,170 MWh (231 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 24.4% capacity factor on 108.2 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Culbertson Generation Station?

Culbertson Generation Station is in Roosevelt County, Montana, at 48.2100, −104.3917. It is in the Southwest Power Pool balancing area (SWPP).

Who operates Culbertson Generation Station?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Basin Electric Power Coop as the operator (EIA operator ID 1307). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Culbertson Generation Station start operating?

Its first generator began operating in December 2010, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Culbertson Generation Station?

Yes. InfraMap has SPP day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Culbertson Generation Station, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
  • SPP day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page