WindOperatingMISO

Luverne Wind Energy Center

Wind power plant in Steele County, North Dakota. 49.5 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Otter Tail Power Co.

Also known as EIA plant 57031

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Ashtabula Wind II LLCFPL Energy Ashtabula Wind LLCAshtabula Wind Energy CenterCourtenay Wind FarmLuverne25 km
Open in the map
5 plants within 55 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
49.5 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
September 2009First generator online
Operator
Otter Tail Power CoEIA operator ID 14232
Grid
MISOBalancing authority MISO
Price nodes
1 MISO nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Steele County, ND47.3272, −97.8975
EIA plant ID
57031EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Luverne produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

151 GWh

151,405 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

34.9%

2024: 25.3%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

110.1–186.3

GWh a year. Low 2024, high 2017

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
200956,079Not reported4 of 12
2010166,43638.4%12 of 12
2011178,03141.1%12 of 12
2012175,01440.3%12 of 12
2013169,21739.0%12 of 12
2014180,89241.7%12 of 12
2015174,64540.3%12 of 12
2016182,32841.9%12 of 12
2017186,30443.0%12 of 12
2018177,56140.9%12 of 12
2019165,72638.2%12 of 12
2020173,80640.0%12 of 12
2021174,85940.3%12 of 12
2022176,49340.7%12 of 12
2023159,46036.8%12 of 12
2024110,09125.3%12 of 12
2025151,40534.9%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · MISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Onshore Wind Turbine49.5September 2009

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Otter Tail Power Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Modeled curtailment

A range, not one number. The lower bound counts hours inside the production tax credit window; the upper bound is the no-credit case.

Modeled

Expected vs reported generation

Monthly modeled expected output and physical potential next to EIA-923 reported output.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Luverne Wind Energy Center and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Luverne

More plants operated by Otter Tail Power Co

Questions about Luverne

How much power does Luverne Wind Energy Center produce?

Luverne Wind Energy Center reported 151,405 MWh (151 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 34.9% capacity factor on 49.5 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Luverne Wind Energy Center?

Luverne Wind Energy Center is in Steele County, North Dakota, at 47.3272, −97.8975. It is in the Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator, Inc.. balancing area (MISO).

Who operates Luverne Wind Energy Center?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Otter Tail Power Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 14232). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Luverne Wind Energy Center start operating?

Its first generator began operating in September 2009, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Luverne Wind Energy Center?

Yes. InfraMap has MISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Luverne Wind Energy Center, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • MISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page