HTW Plant 303 COGEN
Natural gas power plant in Salt Lake County, Utah. 7.4 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by The University of Utah.
Also known as EIA plant 58597
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 7.4 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- August 2008First generator online
- Operator
- The University of UtahEIA operator ID 58555
- Grid
- PACEBalancing authority PACE
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Salt Lake County, UT40.7631, −111.8417
- EIA plant ID
- 58597EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power HTW Plant 303 COGEN produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
47.1 GWh
47,140 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
72.7%
2024: 70.3%
January to July 2026
27.5 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
28.5–47.1
GWh a year. Low 2020, high 2025
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2013 | 43,585 | 67.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 44,444 | 68.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 41,165 | 63.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 34,528 | 53.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 45,716 | 70.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 32,632 | 50.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 37,713 | 58.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 28,488 | 43.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 34,042 | 52.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 41,857 | 64.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 45,979 | 70.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 45,697 | 70.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 47,140 | 72.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 27,474 | 73.0% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| CGN1 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 7.4 | August 2008 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists The University of Utah as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query HTW Plant 303 COGEN and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near HTW Plant 303 COGEN
Questions about HTW Plant 303 COGEN
How much power does HTW Plant 303 COGEN produce?
HTW Plant 303 COGEN reported 47,140 MWh (47.1 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 72.7% capacity factor on 7.4 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 27.5 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is HTW Plant 303 COGEN?
HTW Plant 303 COGEN is in Salt Lake County, Utah, at 40.7631, −111.8417. It is in the PacifiCorp - East balancing area (PACE).
Who operates HTW Plant 303 COGEN?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists The University of Utah as the operator (EIA operator ID 58555). The operator is not always the owner.
When did HTW Plant 303 COGEN start operating?
Its first generator began operating in August 2008, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page