Battery storageOperatingCAISO

Ortega Highway Energy Storage

Battery storage project in Orange County, California. 1 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by SDGE Batteries.

Also known as EIA plant 60567

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Baldwin (CA)BakerLAWRPLake Elsinore Canopie…Bowerman Power LFG, LLCOrtega Highway Energy…10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 24 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
1 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
May 2015First generator online
Operator
SDGE BatteriesEIA operator ID 60336
Grid
CAISOBalancing authority CISO
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Orange County, CA33.5621, −117.5438
EIA plant ID
60567EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Ortega Highway Energy Storage produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

0 MWh

0 MWh, final

Battery discharge, 2025

0 MWh

Charge 0 MWh

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2016 to 2025

−441.0–0.0

MWh a year. Low 2023, high 2017

Annual net generation, MWh
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2009Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2010Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2011Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2012Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2013Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2014Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2015Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2016−2Not reported12 of 12
20170Not reported12 of 12
2018−4Not reported12 of 12
2019−3Not reported12 of 12
20200Not reported12 of 12
20210Not reported12 of 12
2022−3Not reported12 of 12
2023−441Not reported12 of 12
20240Not reported12 of 12
20250Not reported12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Battery plants can report negative net generation, when charging uses more energy than they discharge.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
SES1Batteries1.0May 2015

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists SDGE Batteries as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Ortega Highway Energy Storage and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Ortega Highway Energy Storage

More plants operated by SDGE Batteries

Questions about Ortega Highway Energy Storage

How much power does Ortega Highway Energy Storage produce?

Ortega Highway Energy Storage reported 0 MWh (0 MWh) of net generation in 2025.

Where is Ortega Highway Energy Storage?

Ortega Highway Energy Storage is in Orange County, California, at 33.5621, −117.5438. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).

Who operates Ortega Highway Energy Storage?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists SDGE Batteries as the operator (EIA operator ID 60336). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Ortega Highway Energy Storage start operating?

Its first generator began operating in May 2015, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page