El Cajon Energy Storage
Battery storage project in San Diego County, California. 7.5 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by San Diego Gas & Electric Co.
Also known as EIA plant 60569
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 7.5 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- February 2017First generator online
- Operator
- San Diego Gas & Electric CoEIA operator ID 16609
- Grid
- CAISOBalancing authority CISO
- Price nodes
- 1 CAISO nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- San Diego County, CA32.8115, −117.0505
- EIA plant ID
- 60569EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power El Cajon Energy Storage produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
−601 MWh
−601 MWh, final
Battery discharge, 2025
4.32 GWh
Charge 4.92 GWh
January to July 2026
−229 MWh
Provisional
Range, 2018 to 2025
−1.2–−0.6
GWh a year. Low 2018, high 2023
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2013 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2016 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2017 | 948 | Not reported | 10 of 12 |
| 2018 | −1,164 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | −923 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | −698 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | −783 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | −678 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | −563 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | −693 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | −601 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | −229 | Not reported | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Battery plants can report negative net generation, when charging uses more energy than they discharge.
Power prices and basis
Free account · CAISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| SES | Batteries | 7.5 | February 2017 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists San Diego Gas & Electric Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query El Cajon Energy Storage and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near El Cajon Energy Storage
More plants operated by San Diego Gas & Electric Co
Questions about El Cajon Energy Storage
How much power does El Cajon Energy Storage produce?
El Cajon Energy Storage reported −601 MWh (−601 MWh) of net generation in 2025. From January to July 2026 it reported −229 MWh, which is provisional.
Where is El Cajon Energy Storage?
El Cajon Energy Storage is in San Diego County, California, at 32.8115, −117.0505. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).
Who operates El Cajon Energy Storage?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists San Diego Gas & Electric Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 16609). The operator is not always the owner.
When did El Cajon Energy Storage start operating?
Its first generator began operating in February 2017, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for El Cajon Energy Storage?
Yes. InfraMap has CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to El Cajon Energy Storage, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page