Iatan
Coal power plant in Platte County, Missouri. 1,753.9 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Evergy Metro.
Also known as Iatan Generating Station · EIA plant 6065
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 1,753.9 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- May 1980First generator online
- Operator
- Evergy MetroEIA operator ID 10000
- Grid
- SPPBalancing authority SWPP
- Price nodes
- 2 SPP nodesResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Platte County, MO39.4472, −94.9800
- EIA plant ID
- 6065EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Iatan produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
5.77 TWh
5,774,937 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
37.6%
2024: 26.2%
January to July 2026
2.74 TWh
Provisional. 6 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
4.0–10.9
TWh a year. Low 2024, high 2017
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 3,946,409 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 4,396,469 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 4,017,999 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 4,961,191 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 5,063,503 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 4,899,449 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 5,012,391 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 4,210,682 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 4,238,489 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 3,825,377 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 6,627,458 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 9,041,945 | 62.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 11,829,103 | 82.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 10,597,275 | 73.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 9,187,942 | 64.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 9,406,012 | 65.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 9,762,360 | 67.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 10,886,599 | 75.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 7,824,589 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 8,562,278 | 56.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 7,034,578 | 46.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 7,851,566 | 52.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 5,868,322 | 38.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 4,861,890 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 4,033,814 | 26.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 5,774,937 | 37.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 2,739,817 | 36.0% | 6 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · SPPEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
5.61M
US short tons. 2024: 4.54M
SO₂, 2025
461
US short tons
NOx, 2025
1,500
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.97 t
About 1,943 lb per MWh
2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, 2), matched to EIA plant 6065 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
174,340
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
1,737
million gallons
Source
Missouri River
Surface, Fresh. Once-through
Watershed stress
Low · 0.268
USGS SUI, HUC12 Mission Creek-Missouri River
24 of 24 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the source river HUC12 within 3 km. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Conventional Steam Coal | 754.9 | May 1980 |
| 2 | Conventional Steam Coal | 999.0 | August 2010 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Evergy Metro as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Iatan and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Iatan
More plants operated by Evergy Metro
Questions about Iatan
How much power does Iatan produce?
Iatan reported 5,774,937 MWh (5.77 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 37.6% capacity factor on 1,753.9 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 2.74 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Iatan?
Iatan is in Platte County, Missouri, at 39.4472, −94.9800. It is in the Southwest Power Pool balancing area (SWPP).
Who operates Iatan?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Evergy Metro as the operator (EIA operator ID 10000). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Iatan start operating?
Its first generator began operating in May 1980, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Iatan?
Yes. InfraMap has SPP day-ahead and real-time prices at 2 price nodes linked to Iatan, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- SPP day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page