Battery storageOperatingERCOT

Bat Cave

Battery storage project in Mason County, Texas. 100 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Engie North America.

Also known as Bat Cave BESS · EIA plant 64312

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

LampwickJunction BESSHeart of Texas Wind ProjectBat Cave25 km
Open in the map
5 plants within 59 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
100 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
October 2021First generator online
Operator
Engie North AmericaEIA operator ID 56201
Grid
ERCOTBalancing authority ERCO
Price nodes
1 ERCOT nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Mason County, TX30.7377, −99.2318
EIA plant ID
64312EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Bat Cave produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

−13.1 GWh

−13,140 MWh, final

Battery discharge, 2025

34.3 GWh

Charge 47.5 GWh

January to July 2026

−7.14 GWh

Provisional

Range, 2022 to 2025

−15.4–−13.1

GWh a year. Low 2023, high 2025

Annual net generation, GWh
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2009Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2010Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2011Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2012Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2013Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2014Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2015Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2016Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2017Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2018Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2019Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2020Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2021−127Not reported3 of 12
2022−13,305Not reported12 of 12
2023−15,429Not reported12 of 12
2024−14,870Not reported12 of 12
2025−13,140Not reported12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)−7,142Not reported7 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Battery plants can report negative net generation, when charging uses more energy than they discharge.

Power prices and basis

Free account · ERCOT

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
BCBatteries100.0October 2021

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Engie North America as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Bat Cave and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Bat Cave

More plants operated by Engie North America

Questions about Bat Cave

How much power does Bat Cave produce?

Bat Cave reported −13,140 MWh (−13.1 GWh) of net generation in 2025. From January to July 2026 it reported −7.14 GWh, which is provisional.

Where is Bat Cave?

Bat Cave is in Mason County, Texas, at 30.7377, −99.2318. It is in the Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. balancing area (ERCO).

Who operates Bat Cave?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Engie North America as the operator (EIA operator ID 56201). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Bat Cave start operating?

Its first generator began operating in October 2021, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Bat Cave?

Yes. InfraMap has ERCOT day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Bat Cave, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • ERCOT day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page