HydroOperatingNYISO

Mill C

Hydro power plant in Clinton County, New York. 5 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by New York State Elec & Gas Corp.

Also known as Mill C Hydro Power Station · EIA plant 6486

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Clinton LFGTE FacilityLower Saranac Hydroelectric FacilityRoute 22 Community Solar Farm CSGSaranac FacilityAltonaMill C5 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 14 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
5 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
August 1943First generator online
Operator
New York State Elec & Gas CorpEIA operator ID 13511
Grid
NYISOBalancing authority NYIS
Price nodes
1 NYISO nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Clinton County, NY44.6967, −73.6122
EIA plant ID
6486EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Mill C produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

21.8 GWh

21,788 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

41.5%

2024: 53.4%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

13.2–31.3

GWh a year. Low 2021, high 2017

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
20000Not reported12 of 12
200112,193Not reported12 of 12
200212,884Not reported12 of 12
200328,260Not reported12 of 12
200420,102Not reported12 of 12
200520,699Not reported12 of 12
200652,940Not reported12 of 12
200726,848Not reported12 of 12
200831,861Not reported12 of 12
200930,355Not reported12 of 12
201026,71950.8%12 of 12
201127,21551.8%12 of 12
201224,34646.2%12 of 12
201327,08351.5%12 of 12
201425,53548.6%12 of 12
201519,22136.6%12 of 12
201624,76647.0%12 of 12
201731,29659.5%12 of 12
201827,03651.4%12 of 12
201926,77450.9%12 of 12
202017,65433.5%12 of 12
202113,19825.1%12 of 12
202217,06032.5%12 of 12
202329,09455.4%12 of 12
202428,13453.4%12 of 12
202521,78841.5%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · NYISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
2Conventional Hydroelectric1.2August 1943
3Conventional Hydroelectric3.8November 1984

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists New York State Elec & Gas Corp as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Mill C and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Mill C

More plants operated by New York State Elec & Gas Corp

Questions about Mill C

How much power does Mill C produce?

Mill C reported 21,788 MWh (21.8 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 41.5% capacity factor on 5 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Mill C?

Mill C is in Clinton County, New York, at 44.6967, −73.6122. It is in the New York Independent System Operator balancing area (NYIS).

Who operates Mill C?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists New York State Elec & Gas Corp as the operator (EIA operator ID 13511). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Mill C start operating?

Its first generator began operating in August 1943, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Mill C?

Yes. InfraMap has NYISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Mill C, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • NYISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page