Edwards Sanborn E1A
Solar and battery storage project in Kern County, California. 293.3 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Terra-Gen Operating Co-Hybrid.
Also known as EIA plant 64878
This project groups Edwards Sanborn E1A (EIA 64878). EIA reports them as separate plants.
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 293.3 MWSolar 149.3 · Battery storage 144.0
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- August 2022First generator online
- Operator
- Terra-Gen Operating Co-HybridEIA operator ID 64366
- Grid
- CAISOBalancing authority CISO
- Price nodes
- 1 CAISO nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Kern County, CA34.9619, −118.1242
- EIA plant ID
- 64878EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Edwards Sanborn E1A produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
332 GWh
332,363 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
26.6%
2024: 26.2%
January to July 2026
192 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2023 to 2025
297.6–332.4
GWh a year. Low 2023, high 2025
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2013 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2016 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2017 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2018 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2019 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2020 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2021 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2022 | 53,954 | Not reported | 5 of 12 |
| 2023 | 297,643 | 24.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 327,194 | 26.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 332,363 | 26.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 191,637 | 26.6% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free account · CAISOEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| BESS | Batteries | 144.0 | August 2022 |
| PV | Solar Photovoltaic | 149.3 | August 2022 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Terra-Gen Operating Co-Hybrid as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Modeled curtailment
A range, not one number. The lower bound counts hours inside the production tax credit window; the upper bound is the no-credit case.
Expected vs reported generation
Monthly modeled expected output and physical potential next to EIA-923 reported output.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Edwards Sanborn E1A and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Edwards Sanborn E1A
More plants operated by Terra-Gen Operating Co-Hybrid
Questions about Edwards Sanborn E1A
How much power does Edwards Sanborn E1A produce?
Edwards Sanborn E1A reported 332,363 MWh (332 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 26.6% capacity factor on 293.3 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 192 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is Edwards Sanborn E1A?
Edwards Sanborn E1A is in Kern County, California, at 34.9619, −118.1242. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).
Who operates Edwards Sanborn E1A?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Terra-Gen Operating Co-Hybrid as the operator (EIA operator ID 64366). The operator is not always the owner.
Is Edwards Sanborn E1A a solar or a battery storage plant?
Both. Solar capacity totals 149.3 MW and battery storage capacity totals 144 MW.
When did Edwards Sanborn E1A start operating?
Its first generator began operating in August 2022, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Edwards Sanborn E1A?
Yes. InfraMap has CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Edwards Sanborn E1A, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page