Battery storageOperatingNEVP

Chukar Battery Energy Storage System

Battery storage project in Storey County, Nevada. 10 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Nevada Power Co.

Also known as EIA plant 65472

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Tesla Reno GigaFactoryTracyTurquoise Nevada, LLCTurquoise Liberty SolarChukar Battery Energy…5 km
Open in the map
5 plants within 8.1 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
10 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
July 2021First generator online
Operator
Nevada Power CoEIA operator ID 13407
Grid
NEVPBalancing authority NEVP
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Storey County, NV39.5564, −119.4367
EIA plant ID
65472EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Chukar Battery Energy Storage System produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

−2.27 GWh

−2,269 MWh, final

Battery discharge, 2025

10.9 GWh

Charge 13.2 GWh

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2024 to 2025

−2.3–−2.3

GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2024

Annual net generation, GWh
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2009Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2010Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2011Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2012Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2013Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2014Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2015Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2016Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2017Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2018Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2019Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2020Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2021Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2022Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2023Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2024−2,252Not reported12 of 12
2025−2,269Not reported12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Battery plants can report negative net generation, when charging uses more energy than they discharge.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
CHUK1Batteries10.0July 2021

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Nevada Power Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Chukar Battery Energy Storage System and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Chukar Battery Energy Storage System

More plants operated by Nevada Power Co

Questions about Chukar Battery Energy Storage System

How much power does Chukar Battery Energy Storage System produce?

Chukar Battery Energy Storage System reported −2,269 MWh (−2.27 GWh) of net generation in 2025.

Where is Chukar Battery Energy Storage System?

Chukar Battery Energy Storage System is in Storey County, Nevada, at 39.5564, −119.4367. It is in the Nevada Power Company balancing area (NEVP).

Who operates Chukar Battery Energy Storage System?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Nevada Power Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 13407). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Chukar Battery Energy Storage System start operating?

Its first generator began operating in July 2021, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page