HydroOperatingBPAT

Foster

Hydro power plant in Linn County, Oregon. 20 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by USACE Northwestern Division.

Also known as Foster Dam · EIA plant 6552

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Green PeterLacomb Irrigation DistrictFalls CreekMarble Solar LLC (CSG)Evergreen BioPower LLCFoster20 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 40 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
20 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
September 1968First generator online
Operator
USACE Northwestern DivisionEIA operator ID 19400
Grid
BPATBalancing authority BPAT
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Linn County, OR44.4146, −122.6712
EIA plant ID
6552EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Foster produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

65.2 GWh

65,226 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

37.2%

2024: 32.4%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

52.6–85.9

GWh a year. Low 2015, high 2017

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
200090,110Not reported12 of 12
200179,954Not reported12 of 12
200288,479Not reported12 of 12
200388,052Not reported12 of 12
2004106,091Not reported12 of 12
200579,744Not reported12 of 12
200687,591Not reported12 of 12
200753,904Not reported12 of 12
200880,804Not reported12 of 12
200968,481Not reported12 of 12
201073,37241.9%12 of 12
201179,68045.5%12 of 12
2012105,15959.9%12 of 12
201394,90454.2%12 of 12
2014101,64958.0%12 of 12
201552,57430.0%12 of 12
201676,10043.3%12 of 12
201785,91349.0%12 of 12
201882,98547.4%12 of 12
201961,27135.0%12 of 12
202071,57940.7%12 of 12
202162,79035.8%12 of 12
202254,21130.9%12 of 12
202362,42535.6%12 of 12
202456,87832.4%12 of 12
202565,22637.2%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric10.0September 1968
2Conventional Hydroelectric10.0October 1968

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists USACE Northwestern Division as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Foster and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Foster

More plants operated by USACE Northwestern Division

Questions about Foster

How much power does Foster produce?

Foster reported 65,226 MWh (65.2 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 37.2% capacity factor on 20 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Foster?

Foster is in Linn County, Oregon, at 44.4146, −122.6712. It is in the Bonneville Power Administration balancing area (BPAT).

Who operates Foster?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists USACE Northwestern Division as the operator (EIA operator ID 19400). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Foster start operating?

Its first generator began operating in September 1968, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page