HydroOperatingCAISO

Yorba Linda

Hydro power plant in Orange County, California. 5.1 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Metropolitan Water District of S CA.

Also known as EIA plant 6647

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Valley ViewBrea Expansion PlantCSUF TrigenerationCanyon Power PlantKaiser East La Palma Ave. Fuel CellYorba Linda2 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 7.2 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
5.1 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
November 1981First generator online
Operator
Metropolitan Water District of S CAEIA operator ID 12397
Grid
CAISOBalancing authority CISO
Price nodes
1 CAISO nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Orange County, CA33.9117, −117.8192
EIA plant ID
6647EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Yorba Linda produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

9.38 GWh

9,377 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

21.0%

2024: 0.0%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

0.0–20.6

GWh a year. Low 2024, high 2018

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
20000Not reported12 of 12
2001778Not reported12 of 12
200222,537Not reported12 of 12
200330,544Not reported12 of 12
200430,517Not reported12 of 12
200532,273Not reported12 of 12
200625,832Not reported12 of 12
200731,567Not reported12 of 12
200830,212Not reported12 of 12
200920,751Not reported12 of 12
20107,30616.4%12 of 12
201116,83737.7%12 of 12
20122760.6%12 of 12
2013Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2014Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
20152,2915.1%12 of 12
20168,30618.5%12 of 12
201712,41627.8%12 of 12
201820,63046.2%12 of 12
201918,93742.4%12 of 12
202016,39936.6%12 of 12
20212,1564.8%12 of 12
20226,24914.0%12 of 12
20233,8688.7%12 of 12
202400.0%12 of 12
20259,37721.0%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · CAISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric5.1November 1981

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Metropolitan Water District of S CA as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Yorba Linda and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Yorba Linda

More plants operated by Metropolitan Water District of S CA

Questions about Yorba Linda

How much power does Yorba Linda produce?

Yorba Linda reported 9,377 MWh (9.38 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 21.0% capacity factor on 5.1 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Yorba Linda?

Yorba Linda is in Orange County, California, at 33.9117, −117.8192. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).

Who operates Yorba Linda?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Metropolitan Water District of S CA as the operator (EIA operator ID 12397). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Yorba Linda start operating?

Its first generator began operating in November 1981, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Yorba Linda?

Yes. InfraMap has CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Yorba Linda, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page