Johnson City BESS
Battery storage project in Blanco County, Texas. 2.3 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Pedernales Electric Coop, Inc.
Also known as EIA plant 69334
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 2.3 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- October 2020First generator online
- Operator
- Pedernales Electric Coop, IncEIA operator ID 14626
- Grid
- ERCOTBalancing authority ERCO
- Price nodes
- 1 ERCOT nodeResource nodes with prices
- Location
- Blanco County, TX30.3004, −98.3983
- EIA plant ID
- 69334EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Johnson City BESS produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
−326 MWh
−326 MWh, final
Battery discharge, 2025
193 MWh
Charge 517 MWh
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2013 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2016 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2017 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2018 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2019 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2020 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2021 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2022 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2023 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2024 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2025 | −326 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Battery plants can report negative net generation, when charging uses more energy than they discharge.
Power prices and basis
Free account · ERCOTEmissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| JCBAT | Batteries | 2.3 | October 2020 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Pedernales Electric Coop, Inc as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Johnson City BESS and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Johnson City BESS
Questions about Johnson City BESS
How much power does Johnson City BESS produce?
Johnson City BESS reported −326 MWh (−326 MWh) of net generation in 2025.
Where is Johnson City BESS?
Johnson City BESS is in Blanco County, Texas, at 30.3004, −98.3983. It is in the Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. balancing area (ERCO).
Who operates Johnson City BESS?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Pedernales Electric Coop, Inc as the operator (EIA operator ID 14626). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Johnson City BESS start operating?
Its first generator began operating in October 2020, according to EIA-860M.
Does InfraMap have power prices for Johnson City BESS?
Yes. InfraMap has ERCOT day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Johnson City BESS, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- ERCOT day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page