HydroOperatingERCOT

Granite Shoals

Hydro power plant in Burnet County, Texas. 54 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Lower Colorado River Authority.

Also known as Wirtz Power Plant · Granite Shoals Power Plant · EIA plant 3597

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Thomas C FergusonMarble FallsInksBuchanan Dam (TX)Johnson City BESS10 km
Open in the map
5 plants within 29 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
54 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
June 1951First generator online
Operator
Lower Colorado River AuthorityEIA operator ID 11269
Grid
ERCOTBalancing authority ERCO
Price nodes
2 ERCOT nodesResource nodes with prices
Location
Burnet County, TX30.5560, −98.3384
EIA plant ID
3597EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Granite Shoals produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

36.8 GWh

36,793 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

7.8%

2024: 4.7%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

16.2–55.6

GWh a year. Low 2021, high 2016

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
200040,644Not reported12 of 12
200136,392Not reported12 of 12
200230,516Not reported12 of 12
200335,100Not reported12 of 12
200460,788Not reported12 of 12
200560,331Not reported12 of 12
200627,118Not reported12 of 12
200775,567Not reported12 of 12
200827,196Not reported12 of 12
200934,418Not reported12 of 12
201030,1315.7%12 of 12
201123,8144.5%12 of 12
201213,8582.6%12 of 12
201313,5772.6%12 of 12
20149,6501.8%12 of 12
201520,629Not reported12 of 12
201655,57411.7%12 of 12
201721,5854.6%12 of 12
201846,9589.9%12 of 12
201944,8509.5%12 of 12
202020,7394.4%12 of 12
202116,1993.4%12 of 12
202216,9833.6%12 of 12
202316,2893.4%12 of 12
202422,3694.7%12 of 12
202536,7937.8%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · ERCOT

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric27.0June 1951
2Conventional Hydroelectric27.0August 1951

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Lower Colorado River Authority as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Granite Shoals and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Granite Shoals

More plants operated by Lower Colorado River Authority

Questions about Granite Shoals

How much power does Granite Shoals produce?

Granite Shoals reported 36,793 MWh (36.8 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 7.8% capacity factor on 54 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Granite Shoals?

Granite Shoals is in Burnet County, Texas, at 30.5560, −98.3384. It is in the Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. balancing area (ERCO).

Who operates Granite Shoals?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Lower Colorado River Authority as the operator (EIA operator ID 11269). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Granite Shoals start operating?

Its first generator began operating in June 1951, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Granite Shoals?

Yes. InfraMap has ERCOT day-ahead and real-time prices at 2 price nodes linked to Granite Shoals, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • ERCOT day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page