Bowen
Coal power plant in Bartow County, Georgia. 3,498.6 MW of nameplate capacity across 4 generators, operated by Georgia Power Co.
Also known as Plant Bowen · EIA plant 703
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 3,498.6 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 4 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- October 1971First generator online
- Operator
- Georgia Power CoEIA operator ID 7140
- Grid
- SOCOBalancing authority SOCO
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Bartow County, GA34.1256, −84.9222
- EIA plant ID
- 703EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Bowen produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
12.3 TWh
12,258,801 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
40.0%
2024: 22.7%
January to July 2026
7.75 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
8.0–15.8
TWh a year. Low 2020, high 2016
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 21,681,930 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 19,977,350 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 21,688,295 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 20,961,172 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 20,993,144 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 22,337,864 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 22,631,283 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 22,972,903 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 22,233,215 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 21,538,305 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 23,180,981 | 74.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 15,555,868 | 50.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 9,565,786 | 30.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 5,104,406 | Not reported | 6 of 12 |
| 2014 | 15,975,305 | 52.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 12,851,943 | 41.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 15,831,226 | 51.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 13,951,142 | 45.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 13,619,914 | 44.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 10,987,087 | 35.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 7,968,535 | 25.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 9,452,106 | 30.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 8,476,152 | 27.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 10,228,093 | 33.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 1,144,842 | 22.7% | 2 of 12 |
| 2025 | 12,258,801 | 40.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 7,751,322 | 43.5% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
12.84M
US short tons. 2024: 11.43M
SO₂, 2025
9,038
US short tons
NOx, 2025
6,542
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
1.05 t
About 2,094 lb per MWh
4 of 4 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1BLR, 2BLR, 3BLR, 4BLR, 6A, 6B), matched to EIA plant 703 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
12,199
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
5,586
million gallons
Source
Etowah River
Surface, Fresh. Natural-draft tower
Watershed stress
Very low/none · 0.122
USGS SUI, HUC12 Lower Euharlee Creek
48 of 48 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the source river HUC12 within 3 km. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Conventional Steam Coal | 805.8 | October 1971 |
| 2 | Conventional Steam Coal | 788.8 | September 1972 |
| 3 | Conventional Steam Coal | 952.0 | December 1974 |
| 4 | Conventional Steam Coal | 952.0 | November 1975 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Georgia Power Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Bowen and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Bowen
More plants operated by Georgia Power Co
Questions about Bowen
How much power does Bowen produce?
Bowen reported 12,258,801 MWh (12.3 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 40.0% capacity factor on 3,498.6 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 7.75 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Bowen?
Bowen is in Bartow County, Georgia, at 34.1256, −84.9222. It is in the Southern Company Services, Inc. - Trans balancing area (SOCO).
Who operates Bowen?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Georgia Power Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 7140). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Bowen start operating?
Its first generator began operating in October 1971, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page