HydroOperatingISO-NE

Bolton Falls

Hydro power plant in Washington County, Vermont. 8.8 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Green Mountain Power Corp.

Also known as EIA plant 7056

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Waterbury 22Nebraska Valley Solar FarmMiddlesex 2Jericho Landfill Solar FarmGMP Solar - RichmondJericho Gravel Solar FarmBolton Falls10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 18 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
8.8 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
November 1986First generator online
Operator
Green Mountain Power CorpEIA operator ID 7601
Grid
ISO-NEBalancing authority ISNE
Price nodes
1 ISONE nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Washington County, VT44.3594, −72.8167
EIA plant ID
7056EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Bolton Falls produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

6.09 GWh

6,092 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

7.9%

2024: -0.3%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

−0.4–28.0

GWh a year. Low 2023, high 2019

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
200023,911Not reported12 of 12
200110,806Not reported12 of 12
200224,722Not reported12 of 12
200322,618Not reported12 of 12
200416,847Not reported12 of 12
200524,664Not reported12 of 12
200638,517Not reported12 of 12
200725,476Not reported12 of 12
200824,782Not reported12 of 12
200934,229Not reported12 of 12
201031,21540.5%12 of 12
201123,70730.8%12 of 12
201222,48529.1%12 of 12
201326,92434.9%12 of 12
201421,66628.1%12 of 12
201520,36426.4%12 of 12
201618,13223.5%12 of 12
201713,78817.9%12 of 12
201819,24525.0%12 of 12
201928,04336.4%12 of 12
202022,04428.5%12 of 12
20218,45711.0%12 of 12
20226,2068.1%12 of 12
2023−422-0.5%12 of 12
2024−198-0.3%12 of 12
20256,0927.9%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · ISONE

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric4.4November 1986
2Conventional Hydroelectric4.4November 1986

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Green Mountain Power Corp as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Bolton Falls and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Bolton Falls

More plants operated by Green Mountain Power Corp

Questions about Bolton Falls

How much power does Bolton Falls produce?

Bolton Falls reported 6,092 MWh (6.09 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 7.9% capacity factor on 8.8 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Bolton Falls?

Bolton Falls is in Washington County, Vermont, at 44.3594, −72.8167. It is in the ISO New England Inc. balancing area (ISNE).

Who operates Bolton Falls?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Green Mountain Power Corp as the operator (EIA operator ID 7601). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Bolton Falls start operating?

Its first generator began operating in November 1986, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Bolton Falls?

Yes. InfraMap has ISONE day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Bolton Falls, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • ISONE day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page