OilOperatingISO-NE

Colchester 16

Oil power plant in Chittenden County, Vermont. 18 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Green Mountain Power Corp.

Also known as Colchester 16 Power Plant · EIA plant 3735

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

158th Fighter Wing Solar FarmWhitcomb Solar FarmJ C McNeilColchester 161 km
Open in the map
5 plants within 3.0 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
18 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
October 1965First generator online
Operator
Green Mountain Power CorpEIA operator ID 7601
Grid
ISO-NEBalancing authority ISNE
Price nodes
1 ISONE nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
Chittenden County, VT44.4906, −73.1703
EIA plant ID
3735EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Colchester 16 produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

310 MWh

310 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

0.2%

2024: 0.2%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

0.0–1.0

GWh a year. Low 2023, high 2017

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
20006,970Not reported12 of 12
20013,289Not reported12 of 12
2002261Not reported12 of 12
2003424Not reported10 of 12
2004699Not reported12 of 12
2005614Not reported12 of 12
2006717Not reported12 of 12
2007695Not reported12 of 12
2008260Not reported12 of 12
2009122Not reported12 of 12
20101100.1%12 of 12
201100.0%12 of 12
2012970.1%12 of 12
20131670.1%12 of 12
2014780.0%12 of 12
20153320.2%12 of 12
20163630.2%12 of 12
20171,0090.6%12 of 12
20181690.1%12 of 12
2019910.1%12 of 12
2020600.0%12 of 12
20211470.1%12 of 12
20223880.2%12 of 12
202340.0%12 of 12
20242790.2%12 of 12
20253100.2%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · ISONE

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
GT1Petroleum Liquids18.0October 1965

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Green Mountain Power Corp as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Colchester 16 and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Colchester 16

More plants operated by Green Mountain Power Corp

Questions about Colchester 16

How much power does Colchester 16 produce?

Colchester 16 reported 310 MWh (310 MWh) of net generation in 2025, a 0.2% capacity factor on 18 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Colchester 16?

Colchester 16 is in Chittenden County, Vermont, at 44.4906, −73.1703. It is in the ISO New England Inc. balancing area (ISNE).

Who operates Colchester 16?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Green Mountain Power Corp as the operator (EIA operator ID 7601). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Colchester 16 start operating?

Its first generator began operating in October 1965, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Colchester 16?

Yes. InfraMap has ISONE day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to Colchester 16, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • ISONE day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page