OilOperating

NSB Point Lay Utility

Oil power plant in North Slope, Alaska. 2.4 MW of nameplate capacity across 4 generators, operated by North Slope Borough Power & Light (AK).

Also known as EIA plant 7486

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

NSB Point Lay Utility500 m
Open in the map
No other mapped plant within 60 km.

Key facts

Capacity
2.4 MWNameplate
Generators
4 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
July 2013First generator online
Operator
North Slope Borough Power & Light (AK)EIA operator ID 26616
Grid
Not reported
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
North Slope, AK69.7408, −163.0058
EIA plant ID
7486EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power NSB Point Lay Utility produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

3.86 GWh

3,861 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

18.4%

2024: 18.3%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

3.5–4.0

GWh a year. Low 2022, high 2018

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
20023,526Not reported12 of 12
20033,129Not reported12 of 12
20042,575Not reported12 of 12
20052,519Not reported12 of 12
20062,500Not reported12 of 12
20072,000Not reported12 of 12
20083,221Not reported12 of 12
20092,786Not reported12 of 12
20103,62823.0%12 of 12
20113,08519.6%12 of 12
20123,25220.6%12 of 12
20133,517Not reported12 of 12
20143,54216.8%12 of 12
20153,52816.8%12 of 12
20163,60917.1%12 of 12
20173,59217.1%12 of 12
20184,03219.2%12 of 12
20193,66717.4%12 of 12
20203,66617.4%12 of 12
20213,71917.7%12 of 12
20223,52716.8%12 of 12
20233,57217.0%12 of 12
20243,85818.3%12 of 12
20253,86118.4%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
PG7Petroleum Liquids0.6July 2013
PG8Petroleum Liquids0.6July 2013
PG9Petroleum Liquids0.6July 2013
PG10Petroleum Liquids0.6July 2013

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists North Slope Borough Power & Light (AK) as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query NSB Point Lay Utility and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near NSB Point Lay Utility

More plants operated by North Slope Borough Power & Light (AK)

Questions about NSB Point Lay Utility

How much power does NSB Point Lay Utility produce?

NSB Point Lay Utility reported 3,861 MWh (3.86 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 18.4% capacity factor on 2.4 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is NSB Point Lay Utility?

NSB Point Lay Utility is in North Slope, Alaska, at 69.7408, −163.0058.

Who operates NSB Point Lay Utility?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists North Slope Borough Power & Light (AK) as the operator (EIA operator ID 26616). The operator is not always the owner.

When did NSB Point Lay Utility start operating?

Its first generator began operating in July 2013, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page